Brent Yarina, Senior Editor, December 3, 2012

The finalists for the 2012 Heisman Trophy were announced Monday night, and there are a couple surprises: 1. The list includes only three players; and 2. neither Braxton Miller nor Montee Ball received an invite. No. 1 is the real shocker, however, considering there have been five finalists two of the past three years. The last time there were three: 2008.

Here's the list of worthy finalists: Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, Kansas State's Collin Klein and Notre Dame's Manti Te'o.

Did Miller or Ball deserve an invite? Sure. And if there were four or five candidates, one of them would likely be New York bound.

Check out what Big Ten fans wrote on Twitter in response to the finalists: