staff, November 25, 2012

The Big Ten will be well-represented at the 2012 NCAA Volleyball Championship, as seven conference teams were selected to the tournament?s field of 64. The seven squads is tied for first among all conferences and marks the third time in the last four years that the Big Ten has sent seven or more teams to the national tournament.

[ View the official interactive bracket]

Big Ten champ Penn State enters the tournament as the No. 1 overall seed, while No. 4 Nebraska and No. 8 Minnesota have earned top-16 seeds. Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State and Purdue also received bids to round out the Big Ten contingent in the tournament.

After winning its ninth Big Ten title in the last 10 years and receiving the conference?s automatic berth, Penn State will host first- and second round matches and will take on Binghamton in Friday?s first round of the West Lafayette Regional. The Nittany Lions would take on either Bowling Green or Yale in the second round with a first-round win. The selection marks Penn State?s 32nd tournament appearance.

Read the full release.