staff, November 19, 2012

It's almost December, and that means awards season is almost here. That being the case, the finalists for college football's most prestigious awards, other than the Heisman Trophy, were announced Monday. Ohio State's Braxton Miller and Wisconsin's Montee Ball were named finalists for Davey O'Brien Award and Doak Walker Award, respectively.

Davey O'Brien Award (Top quarterback)
Collin Klein, Kansas State
Johhny Manziel, Texas A&M
Braxton Miller, Ohio State

Doak Walker Award (Top running back)
Montee Ball, Wisconsin
Kenjon Barner, Oregon
Johnathan Franklin, UCLA

Both awards will be announced Dec. 6.

Also, Nebraska's Rex Burkhead and Northwestern's Patrick Ward were named finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, handed out to the top scholar-athlete. It will be presented Dec. 4.