staff, November 5, 2012

Five Big Ten teams will compete in the NCAA Women?s Soccer Championship, it was announced on Monday. Illinois, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin earned berths to the national tournament, which begins Friday. This year marks the seventh time in the last 10 years that five or more Big Ten teams have been selected to the bracket.

[ Interactive tourney bracket | Women's College Cup homepage]

The first round of the NCAA Women?s Soccer Championship will be played on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Second- and third-round action will take place Nov. 16 and 18, with the quarterfinals scheduled for Nov. 23, 24 and 25 at campus locations. The 2012 NCAA College Cup will be held in San Diego, Calif. with the semifinals on Nov. 30 and the final on Dec. 2.

Read full release at