staff, September 24, 2012

According to, six cities are in the mix to host college football's first championship game as part of the four-team playoff system that will begin in the 2014 season. The list of candidates includes the cities of the four BCS bowls – Miami (Orange), Pasadena, Calif. (Rose), New Orleans (Sugar) and Glendale, Ariz. (Fiesta) – plus Atlanta (Chick-fil-A) and Arlington, Texas (Cotton).

[Related: Tom Dienhart's Week 5 Bowl Projections]

The four-team playoff system was approved in June and goes into effect at the end of the current BCS system that runs through the 2013 season.

The national championship game will be played Jan. 12, 2015.

As for future title games, ESPN reports the following:

"Requests will be submitted allowing any city to bid for the contest — the same way that cities bid for the NFL's Super Bowl."

Among the cities expected to bid, experts anticipate Indianapolis and Detroit to be in the mix.