staff, June 7, 2012

The Big Ten Conference office announced its 2012 Medal of Honor winners Thursday, honoring 24 student-athletes from 13 different sports. One of the most prestigious conference awards in college athletics, the Big Ten Medal of Honor was first awarded in 1915 to one student-athlete from the graduating class of each university who had ?attained the greatest proficiency in athletics and scholastic work.?

The 12 institutions of the Big Ten Conference feature nearly 10,000 student-athletes, more than any other conference, and only 24 of those individuals are recognized each year with the Big Ten Medal of Honor. In the 98 years of the Medal of Honor, just over 1,300 student-athletes have earned this distinction.

Jenna Carosio, Women?s Soccer
Luke Guthrie, Men?s Golf

Margaux Farrell, Women?s Swimming
Matt Roth, Men?s Basketball

McKenzie Melander, Women?s Track & Field/Cross Country
Erik Sowinski, Men?s Track & Field

Amanda Chidester, Softball
Dan Madwed, Men?s Swimming

Michigan State
Kirk Cousins, Football
Jenilee Rathje, Volleyball

David Pachuta, Men?s Track & Field
Anne Schleper, Women?s Ice Hockey

Tyler Hitchler, Men?s Track & Field
Ashley Miller, Women?s Track & Field

Chelsea Armstrong, Field Hockey
Francis Brooke, Baseball

Ohio State
Bianca Alvarez, Women?s Diving
Andrew Elliott, Men?s Swimming

Penn State
Miguel Pineda, Men?s Gymnastics
Erin Thomas, Women?s Swimming

Robbie Hummel, Men?s Basketball
Brittany Rayburn, Women?s Basketball

Peter Konz, Football
Laurie Nosbusch, Women?s Soccer