staff, May 31, 2012

Illinois sophomore Thomas Pieters fired an even-par 71 on Thursday at Riviera Country Club to win the 2012 NCAA Championship by three shots with a 54-hole total of 208 (-5). Pieters becomes the second Illini golfer to claim the individual NCAA title in the last three years, joining 2010 champion Scott Langley, who was the first in school history.

[Read full recap at]

Pieters also garnered the Arnold Palmer Award presented by Callaway for earning medalist honors and picked up PING first-team All-America honors, giving Illinois a first teamer for the third-straight year.