staff, April 29, 2012

The 2012 Big Ten Men?s and Women?s Golf Championships took place at the Pete Dye Course at French Lick this weekend, and reigning champs, Illinois and Michigan State, hoisted the hardware again Sunday afternoon. Read about the Illinois men winning its fourth straight crown and the Michigan State women claiming its second consecutive title in this post.


Illinois won the Big Ten Men's Golf Championships on Sunday, shooting a 23-over 1,175 to clinch its fourth straight and 11th overall conference title. The Fighting Illini took the lead in the second round of the championships and remained in front through the rest of the event, outshooting second-place Indiana (+26) by three strokes. Northwestern (+34) finished third at the championships, followed by fourth-place Michigan State (+40) and fifth-place Purdue (+50).

Illinois' Luke Guthrie won his second consecutive championships' individual medal, shooting a 5-under 283 over four rounds. Northwestern?s Sam Chien recorded the second under-par round of the championships, carding a one-under 287 for the event. Michigan?s Matt Thompson (+1), Indiana?s David Mills (+4) and Michigan State?s Dan Ellis (+5) rounded out the top five.

Guthrie was also honored with the Les Bolstad Award, given to the conference player with the lowest stroke average to par this season. The All-Championships Team featured the Illini?s Guthrie and Thomas Pieters, Indiana?s Mills, Michigan?s Thompson, Michigan?s State?s Ellis and Northwestern?s Chien.



Michigan State won its second consecutive Big Ten Women?s Golf Championships and fifth overall on Sunday at the Donald Ross Course at French Lick Resort. The 23rd-ranked Spartans led after the final three rounds of the tournament, compiling a team score of 885 (+21) en route to the title. Purdue finished second, trailing Michigan State by 10 strokes at 895 (+31), while Ohio State took third at (+34).

Purdue's Laura Gonzalez took individual medalist honors at the championships, finishing with an even-par 216 through 54 holes. After posting a 6-over 78 in round one, Gonzalez fired back-to-back rounds of 3-under 69?s to finish the championships in first place. The Boilermaker junior's finish marks the fifth consecutive year that a Purdue golfer has earned medalist honors. Michigan's Yugene Lee finished with a 1-over 217 en route to second place, while Michigan State?s Caroline Powers and Lindsey Solberg, Nebraska?s Madeleine Sheils and Ohio State?s Rachel Rohanna finished tied for third with a 2-over 218 for the championships.

Gonzalez was also honored with the Mary Fossum Award, given to the Big Ten player with the lowest stroke average to par this season. The All-Championships Team featured Michigan?s Lee, Michigan State's Powers and Solberg, Nebraska?s Sheils, Ohio State?s Rohanna and Purdue?s Gonzalez.

— Big