staff, April 22, 2012

No. 3 Ohio State captured its seventh consecutive outright Big Ten regular-season title with a 6-1 victory over No. 21 Michigan (16-6, 9-2) Sunday afternoon at the outdoor Varsity Tennis Courts.

Connor Smith?s 6-2, 6-2 win over Alex Buzzi sealed Ohio State?s 29th win (29-2, 11-0 Big Ten) of the season and 146th-consecutive victory in Columbus. Smith improved to 26-6 overall, including 15-4 record at the No. 6 position.

[ Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament Bracket]

?We?re very fortunate to be on the run that we?ve been on these last seven years,? Ohio State coach Ty Tucker said. ?We couldn?t have done it without the support of the fans and the tremendous work put in by our team, especially seniors Chase [Buchanan] and Steven [Williams].?


Michigan and Northwestern clinched a share of the Big Ten Women?s Tennis Championship on Sunday afternoon. The Wildcats claimed their 14th title in program history, while the Wolverines earned their fourth Big Ten crown.

With Northwestern?s 7-0 victory over No. 47 Indiana on Sunday afternoon, the 12th-ranked Wildcats clinched a share of the Big Ten title. Northwestern finished 10-1 in Big Ten play and 17-7 overall en route to the regular season crown. The Wildcats earned the No. 1 seed in the Big Ten Women?s Tennis Tournament by virtue of a head-to-head tiebreaker with Michigan.

[ Big Ten Women's Tennis Tournament Bracket]

The Michigan Wolverines clinched a share of their fourth Big Ten title after defeating No. 62 Ohio State, 5-2 in Ann Arbor, Mich. The 14th-ranked Wolverines finished with a 10-1 conference slate and a 17-6 overall record, earning the No. 2 seed in the upcoming Big Ten Tournament.