staff, April 18, 2012

The Big Ten Network is the home for complete coverage of Big Ten spring championships in May, televising events in the sports of baseball, men?s and women?s golf, rowing, men?s and women?s tennis and men?s and women?s outdoor track and field. Each of these events will be produced in high definition.

Broadcast coverage of the Big Ten?s spring championships begins at 6 PM ET on Wednesday, May 9, with the Big Ten Women?s Tennis Tournament from Ohio State. The Big Ten Men?s Tennis Tournament, hosted by Northwestern, is at 6 PM ET on Thursday, May 10. The Ohio State men?s and Northwestern women?s teams look to defend their Big Ten Tournament crowns from a year ago.

The Big Ten Men?s Golf Championships will air at 10 AM ET on Sunday, May 13, with the Big Ten Women?s Golf Championships directly following at 11 AM ET. Both will be televised from French Lick, IN. The Illinois men?s team and Michigan State women?s team will both look to defend their titles from 2011.

At noon ET on Sunday, May 20, the network will provide coverage of the Big Ten Men?s and Women?s Outdoor Track and Field Championships from Wisconsin. The Iowa men?s and Ohio State women?s teams will look to defend their 2011 titles.

At 11 AM ET on Saturday, May 26, the Big Ten Network will televise the Big Ten Rowing Championships from Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, where the Buckeyes hope to defend their Big Ten crown.

For the fourth straight year, the Big Ten Network will televise every game of the Big Ten Baseball Tournament live.  The tournament will take place May 23-26, with a game on May 27 if necessary, at Huntington Park, home of the Triple-A Columbus Clippers. Coverage begins with two opening-round games at noon and approximately 3:30 PM ET on Wednesday, May 23. Illinois won the tournament title last year, earning the Big Ten?s automatic bid to the NCAA Baseball Championship.

In the latest polls, the Big Ten has nationally ranked teams in the sports of baseball (No. 16 Purdue), men?s golf (No. 25 Iowa, No. 35 Illinois, No. 43 Indiana and No. 48 Purdue), women?s golf (No. 22 Ohio State, No. 27 Michigan State, No. 32 Purdue and No. 42 Northwestern), men?s tennis (No. 3 Ohio State, No. 20 Illinois, No. 21 Michigan, No. 36 Indiana and No. 44 Northwestern), women?s tennis (No. 12 Northwestern, No. 14 Michigan, No. 18 Nebraska, No. 21 Illinois, No. 29 Purdue, No. 33 Minnesota and No. 47 Indiana), men?s track and field (No. 9 Indiana, No. 15 Nebraska, No. 18 Iowa and No. 25 Wisconsin), women?s track and field (No. 21 Nebraska), and rowing (No. 3 Michigan, No. 6 Ohio State, No. 11 Wisconsin, No. 15 Michigan State and No. 19 Minnesota).

The complete television schedule for the 2012 Big Ten Spring Championships and Tournaments appears below. For more information on these events, go to

2011 Big Ten Network Spring Championships/Tournament Schedule:

Sport Date Site Air Date and Time (ET) Defending Champion
(W) Tennis April 26-29 Ohio State Wednesday, May 9 - 6 PM Northwestern
(M) Tennis April 26-29 Northwestern Thursday, May 10 - 6 PM Ohio State
(M) Golf… April 27-29 French Lick, IN. Sunday, May 13 - 10 AM Illinois
(W) Golf April 27-29 French Lick, IN Sunday, May 13 - 11 AM Michigan State
(M/W) Outdoor Track & Field May 11-13 Wisconsin Sunday, May 20 - noon Iowa (M)/ Ohio State (W)
Rowing May 13 Indianapolis Saturday, May 26 - 11 AM Ohio State

Big Ten Baseball Tournament Schedule:

Game Day Date Air Time (ET)
1 Wednesday May 23 noon
2 Wednesday May 23 3:30 PM
3 Thursday May 24 noon
4 Thursday May 24 3:30 PM
5 Thursday May 24 7 PM
6 Friday May 25 noon
7 Friday May 25 3:30 PM
8 (Semifinal 1) Friday May 25 7 PM
9 (Semifinal 2) Saturday May 26 3:30 PM
10 (Championship) Saturday May 26 7 PM
11 Sunday (if necessary) May 27 noon