staff, February 14, 2012

After winning a share of the Big Ten title for the first time since 1979, Michigan State has been selected by the conference coaches as the favorite to win in 2012, the Big Ten office announced Tuesday. Big Ten coaches voted on the top six teams and also selected three players from their own squads to a Players to Watch list. Following the Spartans on the coaches? preseason top six list are No. 2 Purdue, No. 3 Minnesota, No. 4 Nebraska, No. 5 Ohio State and No. 6 Illinois.

Read the full article at

2012 Preseason Poll (top six teams)
1. Michigan State
2. Purdue
3. Minnesota
4. Nebraska
5. Ohio State
6. Illinois

2012 Players to watch
Willie Argo, Sr., CF, Illinois
Brandon Hohl, Jr., 3B, Illinois
Kevin Johnson, Jr., SP, Illinois
Micah Johnson, Jr., 2B, Indiana
Chad Martin, Sr., SP, Indiana
Dustin DeMuth, So., SS, Indiana
Jared Hippen, Sr., SP, Iowa
Matt Dermody, Jr., SP, Iowa
Mike McQuillan, Sr., 2B, Iowa
Patrick Biondi, Jr., OF, Michigan
Michael O?Neill, So., OF, Michigan
Brandon Sinnery, Sr., SP, Michigan
Torsten Boss, Jr., CF/3B, Michigan State
Tony Bucciferro, Sr., SP, Michigan State
Ryan Jones, Jr., 2B, Michigan State
Kyle Geason, Sr., 3B, Minnesota
TJ Oakes, Jr., SP, Minnesota
Tom Windle, So., SP, Minnesota
Travis Huber, Jr., SP, Nebraska
Kash Kalkowski, Jr., 1B/DH, Nebraska
Tom Lemke, Jr., SP, Nebraska
Zach Morton, Jr., UT, Northwestern
Paul Snieder, Sr., 1B/P, Northwestern
Trevor Stevens, Sr., IF/OF, Northwestern
Josh Dezse, So., 1B/RP, Ohio State
Kirby Pellant, Jr., SS, Ohio State
Brett McKinney, Jr., SP, Ohio State
Steve Hill, Jr., SP, Penn State
Elliot Searer, Jr., SS, Penn State
Jordan Steranka, Sr., 3B, Penn State
Kevin Plawecki, Jr., C, Purdue
Cameron Perkins, Jr., 3B, Purdue
Nick Wittgren, Jr., RP, Purdue