staff, staff, February 11, 2012

Northwestern won its third consecutive Big Ten Match Play Championship on Saturday at The Concession Golf Club, defeating Minnesota 3-1-1 in the finals. Wins from Eric Chun, Jack Perry and Bennett Lavin pushed the seventh-seeded Wildcats to the win over the eighth-seeded Gophers and to their 14th win in 15 matches all-time at the Match Play Championship (see the final brackets!).

The Wildcats advanced past No. 10 Penn State on a tiebreaker after playing to a 3-3-0 draw in the first round. Northwestern then picked up a 4-2-0 win over No. 2 Iowa in the quarterfinals, followed by a 5-1-0 victory against No. 6 Ohio State to advance to the finals.

Read the full recap at