Brent Yarina, Senior Editor, November 21, 2011

On Monday night, the finalists for several prestigious end-of-the-year college football awards were released. Two Big Ten players, Penn State defensive tackle Devon Still and Wisconsin running back Montee Ball, made the cut. Still is up for the Bednarik Trophy and the Outland Trophy, while Ball is in the running for the Doak Walker Award. The awards will be given out during ?The Home Depot College Football Awards Show? on Dec. 8. Watch our interview with Ball from Monday night's Pulse now.

Chuck Bednarik Trophy
Devon Still, Penn State
Dont'a Hightower, Alabama
Tyrann Mathieu, LSU

Outland Trophy
Devon Still, Penn State
David DeCastro, Stanford
Barrett Jones, Alabama

Doak Walker Award
Montee Ball, Wisconsin
LaMichael James, Oregon
Trent Richardson, Alabama

No surprises here, as far as Still and Ball being recognized for their terrific seasons. There were a couple glaring omissions, however, what with Nebraska K/P Brett Maher being left off both the Lou Groza Award and Ray Guy Award and Wisconsin QB Russell Wilson not being up for the Davey O'Brien Award. Those two have had unbelievable seasons, and many would argue that they are one of the three best at their position(s).!/B1Gfootball/status/138762433048215552!/B1Gfootball/status/138762240655491072!/B1Gfootball/status/138762061655191553