staff, October 30, 2011

( CHAMPAIGN, Ill. – Wisconsin won its 13th consecutive and 45th overall Big Ten Men?s Cross Country Championship, placing five runners in the top six en route to the title. The Badgers were led by individual champion Mohammed Ahmed, who set a Big Ten Championships 8K record with a time of 23:18 to give Wisconsin its 28th winner at the conference meet all-time.

Wisconsin posted a team score of 17, tying the second-lowest winning score in championships history. Indiana followed in second place with 60 points, while Michigan and Minnesota tied for third with 104 points.

Joining Ahmed in the individual top five were teammates Maverick Darling (second), Elliot Krause (third) and Reed Connor (fifth), along with Minnesota?s Hassan Mead (fourth). The complete All-Big Ten teams can be found below.

Andrew Poore, IND
Hassan Mead, MINN
Mohammed Ahmed, WIS
Ryan Collins, WIS
Reed Connor, WIS
Maverick Darling, WIS
Elliot Krause, WIS

Andy Bayer, IND
Adrian Dannemiller, IND
Zach Mayhew, IND
Bobby Aprill, MICH
Craig Forys, MICH
Kyle Dawson, PSU
Vince McNally, PSU