staff, October 29, 2011

( PARK RIDGE, Ill. - After winning its 14th consecutive Big Ten crown, Penn State earned the No. 1 seed in the 2011 Big Ten Women?s Soccer Tournament. The tournament will be held on the Northwestern campus in Evanston, Ill., with opening-round matchups played on Wednesday, semifinals on Friday and the championship game on Sunday. Visit the tourney homepage. The winner will earn the Big Ten?s automatic berth to the NCAA Championship.

2011 Women's Soccer B1G BracketThe Nittany Lions are undefeated dating since Sept. 17, posting a 10-1 Big Ten record this season. Penn State?s conference title marks the most consecutive championships by a Big Ten women?s program in any sport. The Nittany Lions will face No. 8 seed Northwestern at approximately 4:30 p.m. CT on Wednesday.

Illinois earned the No. 2 seed in the tournament, ending the season with a 3-2 victory over Michigan on Saturday to finish with an 8-2-1 conference record. The Fighting Illini will face No. 7 Ohio State at approximately 1:30 p.m. CT on Wednesday in the tournament?s second game.

Michigan State concluded its conference season with a 2-0 win over Northwestern, earning the No. 3 seed in the tournament. The Spartans finished 7-4 in conference and will face No. 6 Iowa at 10:30 a.m. CT in the tournament?s opening game.

Wisconsin earned the No. 4 seed in the tournament and will face No. 5 seed Minnesota in Wednesday?s final game at approximately 7:30 p.m. CT. The two teams previously faced off on Sept. 29, with the game ending in a tie.

The tournament?s championship game will be held at 3 p.m. CT on Sunday. The semifinals and final will be televised live by BTN.