Maryland unanimous pick to win Big Ten men's soccer title


Maryland unanimous pick to win Big Ten men's soccer title

The Big Ten Conference announced its 2017 men’s soccer preseason coaches poll and preseason honors list on Wednesday, with Maryland unanimously claiming the top spot among the nine conference teams.

The Terrapins concluded the 2016 campaign with an 18-1-2 record (7-0-1 Big Ten), and claimed the Big Ten Tournament title for the third straight season. Maryland made its 34th NCAA Tournament appearance and 22nd in the past 23 seasons.

Indiana checked in at No. 2 in the preseason poll, followed by third-place Wisconsin, No. 4 Michigan State and Michigan in fifth place.

The 2017 preseason honors list features Maryland’s Gordon Wild, last season’s unanimous Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, and Wisconsin’s NSCAA All-American Chris Mueller. The list includes six 2016 first-team All-Big Ten honorees, seven second-team selections and three All-Freshman Team recipients. In addition, eight of this year’s preseason recipients were named to the 2016-17 Academic All-Big Ten team.

All nine conference teams kick off the 2017 campaign on Friday, Aug. 25.

The complete preseason coaches poll and players to watch list can be found below.


1. Maryland
2. Indiana
3. Wisconsin
4. Michigan State
5. Michigan
6. Penn State
7. Ohio State
8. Northwestern
9. Rutgers


Andrew Gutman, Indiana, Jr., Back
Jeremiah Gutjahr, Indiana, Jr., Midfield
Grant Lillard, Indiana, Sr., Back
Amar Sejdic, Maryland, Jr. Midfielder
Gordon Wild, Maryland, Jr., Forward
Eryk Williamson, Maryland, Jr. Midfielder
Francis Atuahene, Michigan, Jr., Forward
Marcello Borges, Michigan, Jr., Defender
Jack Hallahan, Michigan, So., Forward
Jimmy Fiscus, Michigan State, Sr., Defender
Ken Krolicki, Michigan State, Sr., Midfield
Ryan Sierakowski, Michigan State, Jr., Forward
Elo Ozumba, Northwestern, Sr., Forward
Mattias Tomasino, Northwestern, So., Midfielder
Rouven Wahlfeldt, Northwestern, Sr., Midfielder
Nate Kohl, Ohio State, Sr., Forward
Abdi Mohamed, Ohio State, Jr., Midfielder
Hunter Robertson, Ohio State, Sr., Defender
Evan Finney, Penn State, Sr., Goalkeeper
Aaron Molloy, Penn State, Jr., Midfielder
Pierre Reedy, Penn State, So., Midfielder
Ethan Decker, Rutgers, Sr., Forward
Niel Guzman, Rutgers, Sr., Defender
Erik Sa, Rutgers, Sr., Midfielder
Mike Catalano, Wisconsin, Sr. Midfielder
Chris Mueller, Wisconsin, Sr. Forward
Philipp Schilling, Wisconsin, Sr., Goalkeeper


BTN Plus on BTN2Go

BTN Plus on BTN2Go

all times ET
1:02 PMPrinceton at WisconsinWatch
1:40 PMAmerican University at RutgersWatch
2:00 PMNorthwestern at IowaWatch
2:01 PMIndiana at MarylandWatch
2:02 PMIowa at WisconsinWatch
2:03 PMIllinois at NebraskaWatch
2:49 PMMichigan St. at MichiganWatch
4:30 PMWisconsin Red/White ScrimmageWatch

Watch hundreds of live non-televised Big Ten events via BTN Plus on BTN2Go.