Big Ten gets 8 teams in NCAA volleyball tourney

The Big Ten will be well-represented at the 2013 NCAA Volleyball Championship, as eight conference teams have been selected to the tournament’s field of 64. The eight chosen squads ties the Big Ten record for most teams sent to the national tournament which happened four other times (1999, 2002, 2010, 2011).

[ MORE: View official NCAA interactive bracket ]

Big Ten champion Penn State enters the tournament as the No. 2 overall seed, while No. 8 Nebraska, No. 10 Minnesota, No. 12 Wisconsin and No. 13 Illinois have each earned top-16 seeds. Michigan, Michigan State and Purdue also received bids to round out the Big Ten contingent in the tournament.

Read full release.


Your Opinion?
Show Comments (2 Comments)
shookwriter27 on 12/2/2013 @ 1:50am EDT Said:

Illinois is back in the tournament. Anything could happen.

bob jones on 12/2/2013 @ 12:12pm EDT Said:

Going to be fun. The Nebraska/Penn State match this weekend was outstanding and should help set Huskers up for a big run at home.