Record 8 Big Ten teams make NCAA women's soccer field

A conference record eight Big Ten women’s soccer teams will compete in the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship, it was announced on Monday. Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State and Penn State all earned berths to the national tournament, which begins on Friday. The previous record of six Big Ten teams occurred in 1998, 2002 and 2010.

The first round of the NCAA Women’s Soccer Championship will be played on Friday and Saturday. The second and third rounds of the tournament are scheduled for Nov. 22 and Nov. 24, while the quarterfinals will be played Nov. 29 and Nov. 30. The 2013 NCAA Women’s College Cup will be held at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C., with semifinal games on Dec. 6 and the championship match on Dec. 8.

[ MORE: Read full release ]

NCAA Tournament Schedule 
Friday, Nov. 15
No. 2 Nebraska vs. Southeastern Louisiana – 3 p.m.
Iowa vs. Notre Dame – 7 p.m.
Ohio State vs. Kentucky – 7:30 p.m.
No. 4 Penn State vs. Monmouth – 7:30 p.m.
Minnesota vs. Texas Tech – 8 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 16
Illinois vs. Washington State – 4 p.m.
Indiana vs. DePaul – 7 p.m.
No. 3 Michigan vs. Milwaukee – 7 p.m.

All Times are Eastern

Show Comments (No Comments)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Have a question for BTN Customer Service? Please e-mail us here