Debate It: 2013 Big Ten Quarterback of the Year?

In its short two-year existence, the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year has been very kind to its recipients. The inaugural winner, Russell Wilson, went on to have an All-Pro NFL rookie season, and last year’s winner, Braxton Miller, is a preseason Heisman Trophy favorite. Not bad, huh?

Who will have the good fortune of taking home the hardware this season? Tom Dienhart and Brent Yarina offer their picks in this post.

Previous Griese-Brees Winners
2011: Russell Wilson, QB, Wisconsin
2012: Braxton Miller, QB, Ohio State

Tom: Not much of an argument about the top two spots. It’s Ohio State’s Braxton Miller and Nebraska’s Taylor Martinez. They are the Coke and Pepsi of Big Ten quarterbacks. You could make a case for either being the league’s best. In fact, the gap is small. I think Miller’s playmaking as a runner gives him a slight edge. The interesting part of this discussion is which signal-callers are Nos. 3-5? I think Indiana’s Tre Roberson is gonna have a huge year. He was one pace in 2012 for big numbers before breaking a leg early on. And all reports indicate Michigan’s Devin Gardner is gonna blossom—maybe explode. Philip Nelson at Minnesota intrigues me. He could take off after a baptism of fire last year as a true freshman. He’s a nice fit for the offense, too.

Tom’s top 5 candidates:
1. Braxton Miller, Ohio State
2. Taylor Martinez, Nebraska
3. Tre Roberson, Indiana
4. Devin Gardner, Michigan
5. Kain Colter, Northwestern
Dark horse: Philip Nelson, Minnesota

[ RELATED: Check out all of our 2013 Big Ten football predictions ]

Brent: Considering Miller was my pick for Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year, it goes without saying the junior is my selection here. Regression is possible, what with the bevy of weapons Ohio State boasts – there’s only one football, after all – plus Urban Meyer and company could decide to limit their star’s carries. Whatever the situation, Miller will produce and produce in a big way. After Miller, and not far behind him, are Taylor Martinez and Devin Gardner. Any three of these guys has the ability and talent around him to be the Big Ten’s best. The Big Ten may lack proven depth at quarterback, but it’s looking really strong at the top.

Brent’s top 5 candidates:
1. Braxton Miller, Ohio State
2. Taylor Martinez, Nebraska
3. Devin Gardner, Michigan
4. Kain Colter, Northwestern
5. Tre Roberson, Indiana
Dark horse: Christian Hackenberg, Penn State


Your Opinion?
Show Comments (9 Comments)
huskerfanbb on 6/19/2013 @ 5:44pm EDT Said:

Not a lot of debate here. It would be stunning if Miller or Martinez did not emerge on top.

Common sense on 6/19/2013 @ 9:19pm EDT Said:

Devin Gatdner no brainer get ready for September Heismam chatter on BTN

Joseph on 6/20/2013 @ 4:20am EDT Said:

Braxton Miller.

Spivey on 6/20/2013 @ 10:43am EDT Said:


scott s on 6/21/2013 @ 10:19am EDT Said:

not surprizing another ohio football player number 1 again in some poll. and they havent even played a down yet???

Mac on 6/21/2013 @ 1:38pm EDT Said:

Braxton Miller hands down.

Scott s- you obviously dont know alot about college football.

Scott on 6/21/2013 @ 1:44pm EDT Said:

Martinez beat Miller in almost every QB stat, completion percentage, rating, touchdowns, and even longest throw. the only category that Miller really had over Martinez was interceptions. and over all Martinez had more total yards of offense and way more total touchdowns. I honestly don’t get why people put Miller so much father a head of Martinez when Martinez has him beaten in almost every statistical category.

McCague on 6/21/2013 @ 9:15pm EDT Said:

As an OSU fan, I hope Miller is third behind Martinez and Gardner. Meyer is always saying he wants an angry team and players

Gary A. Thomas on 7/18/2013 @ 6:09am EDT Said:

Martinez wins “Most Turnovers Award”, again. Gardner doesn’t have the O-line or game experience as a winner against top competition (re-look at who he won and lost against as a starter). Clearly Braxton Miller is the run-away favorite to win it all again this year. Anyone picking Gardner or Martinez ahead of Miller is just clueless.