Spartans nip Wolverines in OT for B1G tourney crown

No. 5 Michigan State defeated No. 3 Michigan, 2-1, in overtime Sunday afternoon in Evanston, Ill, to claim the 2012 Men’s Soccer Big Ten Tournament Championship. Seven minutes into the extra frame, Sean Conerty found the back of the net to give the Spartans the win and their third Big Ten Tournament title.

Adam Montague opened up the scoring, netting a goal in the 38th minute from 22 yards out. After back and forth play, T.J. Roehn nailed the equalizer for the Wolverines in the 87th minute to force overtime.

2012 All-Tournament Team
Eriq Zavaleta, Indiana
Adam Grinwis, Michigan
T.J. Roehn, Michigan
Cope, Michigan State
Adam Montague, Michigan State
Jarrett Baughman, Northwestern
Kyle Schickel, Northwestern
Chris Gomez, Ohio State
Brian Forgue, Penn State
Minh Vu, Penn State
Paul Yonga, Wisconsin

Offensive Player of the Tournament: Adam Montague, Michigan State
Defensive Player of the Tournament: Kevin Cope, Michigan State

Relive the 2012 Big Ten Men’s Soccer Tournament:

Wednesday results (All times ET)
2:00 p.m. #5 Michigan State 2, #4 Indiana 1 RECAP | BOX | TOURNEY HOME
4:30 p.m. #3 Michigan 1, #6 Wisconsin 0 RECAP | BOX | TOURNEY HOME
7:00 p.m. #2 Northwestern 2, #7 Ohio State 0 RECAP | BOX | TOURNEY HOME
Friday, November 9
1:00 pm #5 Michigan State 3, #1 Penn State 1 RECAP | BOX | TOURNEY HOME
3:30 pm #3 Michigan 3, #2 Northwestern 0 RECAP | BOX | TOURNEY HOME
Sunday, November 11
1:00 pm #5 Michigan State 2, #3 Michigan 1 (OT) RECAP | BOX | TOURNEY HOME

1 Comment

Your Opinion?
Show Comments (1 Comment)
Larry Stebbins on 11/12/2012 @ 6:19pm EDT Said:

G o Green!