Get the 2011-12 All-Big Ten hoops teams

BTN announced the 2011-12 All-Big Ten Men’s Basketball Teams live on Monday night. Michigan State star Draymond Green was the only unanimous first-team player and also won Player of the Year from the coaches and the media, while Green’s coach, Tom Izzo, claimed both Coach of the Year honors. As for the highly debated Freshman of the Year laurel, Trey Burke (media) and Cody Zeller (coaches) were both selected. Let the debate continue!

See all the teams and superlative winners in this post. Earlier Monday,’s Tom Dienhart and Brent Yarina posted their own teams. See them here. Watch our interview with Draymond Green now and check out all of our other interviews in this post.

G: Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin Trey Burke, Michigan Keith Appling, Michigan State
G/F: Robbie Hummel, Purdue Tim Frazier, Penn State Brandon Paul, Illinois
G/F: John Shurna, Northwestern William Buford, Ohio State Matt Gatens, Iowa
F: DRAYMOND GREEN, Michigan State Deshaun Thomas, Ohio State Tim Hardaway Jr., Michigan
F/C: Jared Sullinger, Ohio State Cody Zeller, Indiana Drew Crawford, Northwestern

HONORABLE MENTION: Lewis Jackson, Purdue; Aaron Craft, Ohio State; Ryan Evans, Wisconsin; Christian Watford, Indiana; Jared Berggren, Wisconsin; Meyers Leonard, Illinois

TREY BURKE, Michigan
Dave Sobolewski, Northwestern
Branden Dawson, Michigan State
Aaron White, Iowa

Player of the Year: Draymond Green, Michigan State
Coach of the Year: Tom Izzo, Michigan State
Freshman of the Year: Cody Zeller, Indiana
Defensive Player of the Year: Aaron Craft, Ohio State
Sixth Man of the Year: D.J. Byrd, Purdue

G: Tim Frazier, Penn State Trey Burke, Michigan Keith Appling, Michigan State
G/F: Robbie Hummel, Purdue Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin Aaron Craft, Ohio State
G/F: John Shurna, Northwestern Matt Gatens, Iowa Tim Hardaway Jr., Michigan
F: DRAYMOND GREEN, Michigan State William Buford, Ohio State Drew Crawford, Northwestern
F/C: Jared Sullinger, Ohio State Cody Zeller, Indiana Deshaun Thomas, Ohio State

HONORABLE MENTION: Meyers Leonard, Illinois; Brandon Paul, Illinois; Jordan Hulls, Indiana; Victor Oladipo, Indiana; Christian Watford, Indiana; Aaron White, Iowa; Zack Novak, Michigan; Branden Dawson, Michigan State; D.J. Byrd, Purdue
Lewis Jackson, Purdue; Jared Berggren, Wisconsin; Ryan Evans, Wisconsin

Player of the Year: Draymond Green, Michigan State
Freshman of the Year: Trey Burke, Michigan
Coach of the Year: Tom Izzo, Michigan State

BIG TEN SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD HONOREES: Sam Maniscalco, Illinois; Jordan Hulls, Indiana; Matt Gatens, Iowa; Stu Douglass, Michigan; TBD, Michigan State; Ralph Sampson III, Minnesota; Brandon Richardson, Nebraska; Nick Fruendt, Northwestern; Aaron Craft, Ohio State; Billy Oliver, Penn State; Robbie Hummel, Purdue; Rob Wilson, Wisconsin.

Tom Izzo, the Big Ten Coach of the Year

Aaron Craft, the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year

Cody Zeller, the Big Ten Freshman of the Year (Coaches)

Trey Burke, the Big Ten Freshman of the Year (Media)

Also, use the Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament interactive bracket below to track games live, print the bracket here, and find more links below.

News | TV info | Videos | Live Blog | | #B1Gtourney on Twitter

Find out more about: , , , ,


Your Opinion?
Show Comments (10 Comments)
aroznowski on 3/5/2012 @ 8:10pm EDT Said:

The media did a better job than the coaches.

Ruth on 3/5/2012 @ 9:35pm EDT Said:

Tom Izzo,coach of the year? What about Tom Crean? He took a team that only had one new kid that played much and took them from a 12 & 20 team last year to a 24 & 7 team this year. I think Izzo is a good coach, but I don’t think he really deserved that award this year.

Rob Golding on 3/5/2012 @ 9:36pm EDT Said:

What did Izzo do to win the coy versus Crean? Indiana definitely improved over last year.

4dorr on 3/6/2012 @ 7:46am EDT Said:

There are a lot of young exciting players that are going to make the B1G even better next year.

4dorr on 3/6/2012 @ 9:14am EDT Said:

Why does it take so long for posts to get approved? 20 – 90 minutes is not very good when bloggers like to “see it now”. You would have much more active blogs if people did not have to wait. staff on 3/6/2012 @ 10:25am EDT Said:

    Thanks. We choose to do it this way for now as experience has shown us unmoderated areas don’t work so well for us. But if we alter this in the future, you’ll be the first to know.

LO on 3/6/2012 @ 9:41am EDT Said:

Izzo only took a team that was unranked in the preseason and picked to finish 4th or 5th in the conference and got them to a top 10 ranking and a share of the BIG10 title. I will say that had Crean won the award I would have had no argument against that either, it’s pretty obvious he did a phenomenal job this year as well.

Clint on 3/6/2012 @ 10:09am EDT Said:

Maybe because MSU played a REALLY tough schedule and is going to end up a 2 seed. They played N. Carolina, Duke and Gonzaga on the road and then played in the Big Ten. Their good wins on the road were Gonzaga, Wisconsin and Ohio St where Indiana’s best win on the road was…. Minnesota.

Yeah you played Ky and ND but Indiana had the luxury of having them at home or a “neutral” court that is in their own backyard. In the end, MSU was a much better team with more impressive wins.

Steve O on 3/6/2012 @ 9:24pm EDT Said:

Clint, did you forget that IU beat MSU just over a week ago 70 – 55? What top 5 teams did MSU beat anywhere?

ameehan on 3/7/2012 @ 4:27pm EDT Said:

How could you NOT pick Tom Crean as Big Ten Coach of the year given Indiana’s turnaround from 12 wins to 24 wins in just one season????