Menu Search

Top 25: Five Big Ten teams land in latest AP poll.

Latest Heisman Trophy News

Dienhart: Here's my 2016 Heisman Trophy ballot

The 2016 Heisman Trophy winner has been announced, with Louisville dual-threat quarterback Lamar Jackson taking the prestigious honor. Here’s a look at Tom Dienhart's ballot.

Nissan Heisman House Commercial features George, Smith, Woodson

Good news college football fans: In honor of the return of college football, Nissan’s popular “Heisman House” commercials are back! There are seven new spots featured, but one of them has a special place in the hearts of Big Ten fans, especially those who appreciate the Michigan-Ohio State rivalry. In the clip on top of this post, former Ohio State Heisman Trophy winners Eddie George and Troy Smith take their best shot at putting up a picture of an Ohio buckeye tree in the Heisman House. Then, former Michigan Heisman winner Charles Woodson one-ups them with a giant picture of

Here's what Tom Dienhart's Heisman Trophy ballot looked like

There were no gasps. No screams of shock on Saturday night when the Heisman Trophy winner was announced. Everyone knew it was going to be Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota. The only question: How big would his winning margin be? It was big, over No. 2 man Melvin Gordon of Wisconsin and No. 3 Amari Cooper of Alabama. See the final tally. That finish almost mirrored my ballot. I had Mariota No. 1; Gordon No. 2; TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin No. 3. The argument for Cooper being No. 3—or even higher—was a good one. The guy may be the best wideout

Heisman hopefuls? Take a spin through Tuesday's Big Ten headlines

With the season about to start, the Heisman talk is beginning to heat up. No doubt, defending champ Jameis Winston of Florida State is everyone’s favorite. But a few Big Ten players made the list of Mike Huguenin of Who is the top Big Ten contender with Braxton Miller out? Wisconsin RB Melvin Gordon. I just wonder if he’ll get enough carries to build a good enough resume. And will the Badgers have a passing game to keep defenses from ganging up on Gordon? Any discussion of Iowa having the stuff to be Big Ten West champs includes a Gordon, Miller Heisman 'frontrunners'

While everyone is focused on the NFL draft,’s Zac Ellis is thinking about the Heisman Trophy. Yes, in early May. Ellis released his post-spring 2014 Heisman Watch on Monday, and he spotlights a handful of Big Ten stars. Ohio State QB Braxton Miller and Wisconsin RB Melvin Gordon pace the Big Ten candidates as “The Frontrunners.” See all five players Ellis lists in the Heisman equation in this post. [ MORE: 2014 Heisman Watch: An early look at potential field ] Here’s a look at Ellis’ complete list: Plenty of Big Ten love here; in fact, it’s a

BTN LiveBIG: Archie Griffin's Heisman legacy

Tonight, college football’s most elite club will welcome a new member when the winner of the 2013 Heisman Trophy is named. On December 9, 1935, the University of Chicago’s Jay Berwanger was awarded the first Heisman Trophy. In the 78 years that followed, only one man won the award twice: Ohio State running back Archie Griffin. Griffin followed a stellar college career with seven years in the NFL with the Cincinnati Bengals. However, according to Griffin, winning two Heismans and rushing for more than 2,800 yards in the NFL aren’t his greatest accomplishments. Griffin founded the Archie Griffin Scholarship Fund

Dienhart: Give the Heisman to Johnny Football

When it comes to Heisman races, this one is a yawner. And do you know why that’s funny? Because the 78th Heisman ceremony will be historic. On Saturday night in New York City, we may see the first freshman win the honor in Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel. We also could see the first true defensive player win it in Notre Dame’s Manti Te’o. (Kansas State’s Collin Klein is the other finalist, but he has no shot and is along for the ride. Enjoy it, kid. Bring a camera, too.) I suspect the voting will be close between the two clear

Twitter: Big Ten fans react to Heisman finalists

The finalists for the 2012 Heisman Trophy were announced Monday night, and there are a couple surprises: 1. The list includes only three players; and 2. neither Braxton Miller nor Montee Ball received an invite. No. 1 is the real shocker, however, considering there have been five finalists two of the past three years. The last time there were three: 2008. Here’s the list of worthy finalists: Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, Kansas State’s Collin Klein and Notre Dame’s Manti Te’o. Did Miller or Ball deserve an invite? Sure. And if there were four or five candidates, one of them would