Tom Dienhart, Senior Writer, April 28, 2017


The Big Ten enjoyed success in the opening round of the 2017 NFL draft with seven selections. It was the most for the conference since it had the same number in 2006.

The first Big Ten player off the board was Ohio State cornerback Marshon Lattimore, who went No. 11 overall to the Saints. Buckeye safety Malik Hooker went No. 15 to the Colts and then cornerback Gareon Conley made it three Ohio State defensive backs in succession when he was tabbed No. 24 by the Raiders.

Michigan?s safety Jabrill Peppers went No. 25 to the Browns and then teammate and defensive end Taco Charlton went No. 28 to the Cowboys. Two Wisconsin players closed the first round for the Big Ten, with linebacker T.J. Watt going No. 30 to the Steelers and offensive tackle Ryan Ramczyk going No. 32 to the Saints.

Since 2007, Ohio State leads all Big Ten teams with 16 first-round picks. Wisconsin is second with eight followed by Michigan with six and then Illinois with five and Iowa with four. The only Big Ten team without a first-round selection since 2007 is Indiana, which last had a Round One pick in 1994.

The Big Ten still hasn?t had a quarterback picked in the first round since 1995, when Penn State?s Kerry Collins went to the Panthers. Twenty-six Big Ten signal-callers have been tabbed since Collins was selected. The Big Ten quarterback with the best shot to be picked this year is Iowa?s C.J. Beathard, but he looks like a late-round selection.

Here is a look at the Big Ten?s first-round picks since 2007.

2008: RB Rashard Mendenhall, Steelers
2009: DB Vontae Davis, Dolphins
2011: DT Corey Liuget, Chargers
2012: LB Whitney Mercilus, Texans; WR A.J. Jenkins, 49ers


IOWA (4)
2010: OT Bryan Bulaga, Packers
2011: DE Adrian Clayborn, Buccaneers
2012: OT Riley Reiff, Lions
2015: OT Brandon Scherff, Redskins

2009: WR Darrius Heyward-Bey, Raiders

2007: CB Leon Hall, Bengals
2008: OT Jake Long, Dolphins
2010: DE Brandon Graham, Eagles
2014: OT Taylor Lewan, Titans
2017: S Jabrill Peppers, Browns; DE Taco Charlton, Cowboys

2014: CB Darqueze Dennard, Bengals
2015: CB Trae Waynes, Vikings
2016: OT Jack Conklin, Titans


2007: NT Adam Carriker, Rams
2010: DT Ndamukong Suh, Lions
2011: CB Prince Amukamara, Giants


2007: WR Ted Ginn, Jr., Dolphins
WR Anthony Gonzalez, Colts
2008: LB Vernon Gholston, Jets
2009: CB Malcolm Jenkins, Saints; RB Beanie Wells, Cardinals
2011: DE Cameron Hayward, Steelers
2014: LB Ryan Shazier, Steelers; CB Bradley Roby, Broncos
2016: DE Joey Bosa, Chargers; RB Ezekiel Elliott, Cowboys; CB Eli Apple, Giants; OT Taylor Decker, Lions; LB Darron Lee, Jets
2017: CB Marshon Lattimore, Saints; S Malik Hookier, Colts; CB Gareon Conley, Raiders

2007: OT Levi Brown, Cardinals
2009: DE Aaron Maybin, Bills
2010: DE Jared Odrick, Dolphins

2007: LB Anthony Spencer, Cowboys
2008: TE Dustin Keller, Jets
2011: LB Ryan Kerrigan, Redskins

2009: WR Kenny Britt, Titans
2010: OT Anthony Davis, 49ers
CB Devin McCourty, Patriots

2007: OT Joe Thomas, Browns
2011: DE J.J. Watt, Texans; OT Gabe Carimi, Bears
2012: G Kevin Zeitler, Bengals
2013: C Travis Frederick Cowboys
2015: RB Melvin Gordon, Chargers
2017: LB T.J. Watt, Steelers; OT Ryan Ramczyk, Saints