, February 15, 2017

Maryland was voted the preseason favorite to claim the 2017 Big Ten Baseball Championship, as selected by the conference coaches, it was announced Wednesday. The coaches voted on the top six teams and also selected three students from their own squads to a Preseason Honors list.

The Terrapins were followed in the preseason poll by Michigan in second place, No. 3 Nebraska, Indiana in fourth place, No. 5 Michigan State and Iowa and Minnesota tied for sixth place.

The Golden Gophers return as the defending Big Ten Champion. Minnesota posted a 36-21 record last year and are led into 2017 by preseason honorees infielder Micah Coffey, starting pitcher Lucas Gilbreath and infielder Terrin Vavra.

The 2017 Big Ten baseball season is set to begin on Friday.

The preseason poll, featuring the top six teams, and the complete Players to Watch list can be found below.

1. Maryland
2. Michigan
3. Nebraska
4. Indiana
5. Michigan State
T6. Iowa
T6. Minnesota

Trent Hammond, INF, Sr., Illinois
Pat McInerney, INF, Sr., Illinois
Doran Turchin, OF, So., Illinois
Craig Dedelow, OF., Sr., Indiana
Luke Miller, So., INF, Indiana
Logan Sowers, OF, Jr., Indiana
Nick Gallagher, SP, Jr., Iowa
Mason McCoy, INF, Sr., Iowa
Robert Neustrom, OF, So., Iowa
Marty Costes, OF, So., Maryland
Nick Dunn, INF, So., Maryland
Kevin Smith, INF, Jr., Maryland
Jake Bivens, INF, Jr., Michigan
Oliver Jaskie, SP, Jr., Michigan
Drew Lugbauer, INF, Jr., Michigan
Matt Byars, C, Sr., Michigan State
Brandon Hughes, OF, Jr., Michigan State
Alex Troop, UTIL, So., Michigan State
Micah Coffey, INF, Jr., Minnesota
Lucas Gilbreath, SP, Jr., Minnesota
Terrin Vavra, INF, So., Minnesota
Chad Luensmann, RP, So., Nebraska
Jake Meyers, UTIL, Jr., Nebraska
Scott Schreiber, OF, Jr., Nebraska
Tommy Bordignon, SP, Jr., Northwestern
Matt Hopfner, INF/OF, Sr., Northwestern
Joe Schindler, SP, Sr., Northwestern
Seth Kinker, RP, Jr., Ohio State
Yianni Pavlopoulos, SP/RP, Jr., Ohio State
Jalen Washington, INF, Sr., Ohio State
Sal Biasi, SP, Jr., Penn State
Willie Burger, IF, So., Penn State
Nick Riotto, OF, Sr., Penn State
Tanner Andrews, SP, Jr., Purdue
Nick Dalesandro, C, So., Purdue
Jacson McGowan, UTIL, So., Purdue
Jawuan Harris, OF, So., Rutgers
John O?Reilly, SP, Jr., Rutgers
Kevin Welsh, INF, Fr., Rutgers