staff, December 9, 2016

Heading into Friday, the Big Ten had six teams in the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Women's Volleyball Tournament. Two of Friday's matches featured Big Ten teams competing against each other as No. 16 seed Penn State took on top-seeded Nebraska and Ohio State faced Wisconsin.

Three Big Ten teams — Minnesota, Wisconsin and Nebraska — advanced to the Elite Eight.

See the full bracket here.

Here's a look at how each Big Ten team fared Friday:

In the day's first match, Nebraska faced Match Point twice in the third set against Penn State before storming all the way back to defeat the Nittany Lions, 3-2 to advance to the Elite Eight.

Nebraska now holds a 19-10 lead in the series, while Penn State and had won four straight in the series until Friday. The teams have met a total of ten times in the NCAA Tournament, with Nebraska now holding a 7-3 edge. The last meeting between the teams in the postseason was in 2008 when Penn State won 3-2.



No. 3 Wisconsin outlasted Ohio State in a five-set thriller, winning 3-2 to advance to the Elite Eight.



No. 2 Minnesota defeated No. 15 Missouri 3-1 to advance to the Elite Eight.

No. 12 Michigan fell to Creighton 3-2, ending the Wolverines' season and NCAA tournament run.