staff, March 20, 2016

The University of Minnesota women's hockey team defeated previously undefeated and top-seeded Boston College, 3-1, to earn its seventh national championship at Whittemore Center Arena in Durham, New Hampshire, on Sunday afternoon.

[ MORE: Relive the official NCAA tourney bracket ]

Minnesota?s Sarah Potomak put the Gophers up 1-0 in the first 13 seconds of the game with an assist from Hannah Brandt and Megan Wolfe. Amanda Kessell tallied another score in the third period with an assist from Potomak, and Kelly Pannek netted Minnesota?s final goal with an assist from Lee Stecklein.

Minnesota, which owns a collegiate record seven national titles, has won four of the last five national crowns (2012, 2013, 2015, 2016), finishing as national runner-up in 2014.

Big Ten schools have now claimed five national titles so far this academic year, including championships for Minnesota women?s hockey, Nebraska volleyball, Ohio State open pistol and Penn State women?s soccer and wrestling.