Brent Yarina, Senior Editor, January 13, 2014


Sixteen years later, the BCS is dead. Florida State won the final BCS title earlier this month, but next season it will be all about the new four-team College Football Playoff. To recognize the end of an era, recently posted its All-BCS-era team. Four Big Ten players made the cut.

The final list includes a pair of Badgers and Buckeyes. Former Nebraska DT Ndamukong Suh also made the list.

Here's what said about each player.

[ MORE: See full team | View Big Ten All-BCS-era team ]

RB: Ron Dayne, Wisconsin (1998-99)

"Dayne's career rushing record of 7,125 yards still stands today. He capped a marvelous career with a marvelous senior season, racking up 2,034 yards and 20 touchdowns on the ground to lead the Badgers to the Rose Bowl. Dayne won the Heisman, and captured the Maxwell and Walter Camp awards, both given to the top player in college football. He also won the Doak Walker (best running back) and was the Big Ten offensive player of the year."

OT: Joe Thomas, Wisconsin (2003-06)

"Thomas started 38 games for Wisconsin, and was a dominating force up front. He was the first Badger to win the Outland Trophy, given to college football's top interior lineman, and was a unanimous All-American. Wisconsin went 31-7 with Thomas manning left tackle."

LB: James Laurinaitis, Ohio State (2005-08)

"Laurinaitis was the cornerstone of the Ohio State linebacking corps his final three seasons in Columbus. He was a three-time consensus All-American, and won the Butkus and Nagurski awards. He was also twice selected as the Big Ten defensive player of the year, and was part of four Big Ten championship teams."

KR: Ted Ginn Jr., Ohio State (2004-06)

"Ginn doubled as game-breaking returner and receiver for the Buckeyes. He set a Big Ten record with six career punt return touchdowns, and returned the opening kick for a touchdown in the '06 national title game against Florida. Offensively, Ginn finished his career with 135 receptions for 1,943 yards and 15 touchdowns."