staff, March 2, 2013

Michigan won its third consecutive Big Ten Men's Swimming & Diving Championships crown tonight behind first-place finishes by Dylan Bosch, Connor Jaeger and Bruno Ortiz on the final day of competition at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center in Bloomington, Ind.

The Wolverines totaled 899 points over the four-day event. Indiana finished second with 664 points and Ohio State was third with 470 points. Minnesota tallied 378 points, while Purdue compiled 328 points to round out the top five in the final team standings.

Michigan took home seven individual Big Ten titles and five relay titles. Head coach Mike Bottom picked up Swimming Coach of the Year laurels for the third consecutive year, while Wolverine Dylan Bosch was named Freshman of the Year.

Indiana's Cody Miller claimed Swimmer of the Championships honors, while teammate Darian Scmidt shared Co-Diver of the Championships accolades with Ohio State?s Shane Miszkiel. Indiana?s Jeff Huber was named Diving Coach of the Year for the second year in a row.

2013 Big Ten Individual Honors
Swimmer of the Championships: Cody Miller, Indiana
Co-Divers of the Championships: Darian Schmidt, Indiana and Shane Miszkiel, Ohio State
Freshman of the Year: Dylan Bosch, Michigan
Swimming Coach of the Year: Mike Bottom, Michigan
Diving Coach of the Year: Jeff Huber, Indiana

First Team All-Big Ten
Cody Miller, Indiana
Conor Murphy, Indiana
Darian Schmidt, Indiana
James Wells, Indiana
Dylan Bosch, Michigan
Sean Fletcher, Michigan
Richard Funk, Michigan
Connor Jaeger, Michigan
Anders Lie Nielsen, Michigan
Miguel Ortiz, Michigan
Bruno Ortiz, Michigan
Zachary Turk, Michigan
Kyle Whitaker, Michigan
Michael Wynalda, Michigan
Shane Miszkiel, Ohio State
Andrew Teduits, Wisconsin
Michael Weiss, Wisconsin

Second Team All-Big Ten
Jim Barbierem, Indiana
Matt Gerth, Indiana
Casey Johnson, Indiana
Eric Ress, Indiana
Steve Schmuhl, Indiana
Sean Ryan, Michigan
Zachary Birnbrich, Ohio State
Zachary Holmes, Ohio State
Connor McDonald, Ohio State
Tim Phillips, Ohio State
Jason Schnur, Ohio State
Tyler Stevenson, Ohio State
Garrett Trebilcock, Ohio State
Sean Grier, Penn State
Daniel Tucker, Purdue

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Ryan Downey, Indiana
Jordan Huff, Iowa
Tim Hochradel, Michigan
Jacob Austermann, Michigan State
Jared Anderson, Minnesota
Charlie Rimkus, Northwestern
Zach Birnbrich, Ohio State
Jeff Gomez, Penn State
Alec LaMothe, Purdue
Chris Wiederecht, Wisconsin