staff, February 23, 2013

Minnesota won the 2013 Big Ten Women's Swimming and Diving Championships on Saturday night at the University Aquatic Center on the campus of the University of Minnesota. The title marks the Golden Gophers? second consecutive crown and fifth title overall.

Minnesota amassed 831.5 points over the four-day event. Indiana finished second with 671.5 points and Penn State was third with 498.5 points. Ohio State tallied 384 points, while Purdue compiled 363 points to round out the top five in the final team standings.

Minnesota took home six individual Big Ten titles and three relay titles. Head coach Kelly Kremer picked up Swimming Coach of the Year laurels for the second consecutive year, while Wenbo Chen was named Diving Coach of the Year. Golden Gopher junior Maggie Keefer was tabbed Diver of the Championships for the second consecutive season.

Indiana's Lindsay Vrooman claimed Swimmer of the Championships honors, while Hoosier teammate Brooklynn Snodgrass earned Freshman of the Year accolades.

2013 Big Ten Individual Honors
Swimmer of the Championships: Lindsay Vrooman, Indiana
Diver of the Championships: Maggie Keefer, Minnesota
Freshman of the Year: Brooklynn Snodgrass, Indiana
Swimming Coach of the Year: Kelly Kremer, Minnesota
Diving Coach of the Year: Wenbo Chen, Minnesota

Haley Lips, Indiana
Cynthia Pammett, Indiana
Brooklynn Snodgrass, Indiana
Dorina Szekeres, Indiana
Lindsay Vrooman, Indiana
Tess Behrens, Minnesota
Erin Caflisch, Minnesota
Maggie Keefer, Minnesota
Tori Simenec, Minnesota
Haley Spencer, Minnesota
Lauren Votava, Minnesota
Becca Weiland, Minnesota
Blake Zeigler, Minnesota
Shannon Draves, Ohio State
Alyson Ackman, Penn State
Paige Whitmire, Penn State
Ivy Martin, Wisconsin

Sara Delay, Indiana
Brenna Maclean, Indiana
Ashley Specht, Indiana
Sam Harding, Minnesota
Kiera Janzen, Minnesota
Jessica Plant, Minnesota
Kierra Smith, Minnesota
Devin Ste. Marie, Minnesota
Lauren Weis, Minnesota
Taylor Reynolds, Northwestern
Kelsey Moran, Ohio State
Angela Severn, Ohio State
Michelle Williams, Ohio State
Carolyn Fittin, Penn State
Merritt Krawczyk, Penn State
Katelyn Miller, Penn State
Lauren Gustafson, Purdue
Casey Matthews, Purdue
Mackenzie Tweardy, Purdue