Menu Search

STREAM LIVE: Saturday's action at the 2018 Big Ten Baseball Tournament.

Field Hockey


Big Ten announces Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners

The Big Ten announced on Wednesday the 28 honorees named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2014-15 academic year. These standouts were chosen from a group of more than 350 students honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship. One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree, and two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected from each institution. All of the Sportsmanship Award winners have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these honorees must be in good academic standing and

Video: watch our feature on Kelsey Amy

Kelsey Amy was the 2012 Big Ten offensive player of the year in field hockey at Penn State and in addition to working at Nike, she also designs custom shoes. Watch our feature and see her artistic talent at work.

Three Big Ten teams make 2014 NCAA Field Hockey Tournament

Three Big Ten teams will compete in the NCAA Field Hockey Tournament, it was announced on Sunday night. Maryland, Northwestern and Penn State earned berths to the 16-team tournament, with all three teams opening play on Saturday, Nov. 15. [ MORE: View the official interactive NCAA bracket ] Maryland is making its 27th NCAA Tournament appearance, including its 20th straight, dating back to the 1995 season. The Terrapins garnered the No. 2 overall seed in the tournament, and will host the Princeton-Monmouth winner in the opening round. Maryland won the outright Big Ten Championship in its first year in the

Northwestern wins first Big Ten field hockey tournament title

The third-seeded Northwestern field hockey team claimed its first Big Ten Tournament title Sunday afternoon with a 3-1 win over top-seeded Maryland at Phyllis Ocker Field. With the victory, Northwestern (16-6, 6-2 Big Ten) earned the Big Ten’s automatic berth to the NCAA tournament. The Wildcats’ Lisa McCarthy put Northwestern ahead, 1-0, with a goal in the 25th minute. The Terrapins’ Sarah Sprink tallied the equalizer in the 27th minute, before Northwestern’s Isabel Flens provided the game-winning goal in the 41st minute. Dominique Masters completed the game’s scoring in the 63rd minute. The NCAA Selection Show will be live on

2014 Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament Day 2 roundup

The 2014 Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament continued Friday in Ann Arbor. [ MORE: View the official tournament page ] The championship game will be played on Sunday at 1 p.m. ET. That game will air live on BTN & BTN2Go. No. 1 seed Maryland 1, No. 4 seed Penn State 0 The top-seeded Maryland field hockey team beat fourth-seeded Penn State, 1-0 Friday in the Big Ten Tournament semifinals at Michigan’s Phyllis Ocker Field. The Terrapins (18-2, 7-1 B1G) won their 13th straight game to advance to the Big Ten championship game Sunday afternoon. No. 3 seed Northwestern

2014 Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament Day 1 roundup

The 2014 Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament started Thursday in Ann Arbor. [ MORE: View the official tournament page ] The tournament picks up again Friday. In Game 5, Maryland plays the Game 2 winner at 1 p.m. ET. In Game 6, it’s the game 3 winner against the Game 4 winner at 3:45 p.m.. Winners advance to play Sunday at 1 p.m. ET. All three of those games air live on BTN & BTN2Go. Game 1 — No. 1 seed Maryland 5, No. 8 seed Ohio State 0 The second-ranked Maryland field hockey team (17-2, 7-1 B1G) rolled

Maryland dominates 2014 All-Big Ten Field Hockey Teams

The Big Ten Conference announced its 2014 field hockey All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners on Wednesday, with Maryland collecting four individual honors after winning the Big Ten Championship in its first season in the conference. The Terrapins’ Maxine Fluharty was tabbed Player of the Year, Sarah Sprink was named Defensive Player of the Year, Moira Putsch claimed Freshman of the Year honors and Missy Meharg was named Big Ten Coach of the Year. Iowa’s Natalie Cafone was tabbed Offensive Player of the Year. The complete list of All-Big Ten honorees and Sportsmanship Award honorees can be found below.