Four Big Ten teams make 2018 NCAA Baseball Tournament

Four Big Ten teams make 2018 NCAA Baseball Tournament

The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the field of 64 on Monday with four Big Ten teams selected. Indiana, Ohio State and Purdue earned at-large berths to the national tournament, while Minnesota claimed the conference’s automatic bid after winning the Big Ten Tournament title on Sunday.

[ MORE: View the full tournament bracket ]

The second-seeded Hoosiers will take on Texas A&M in the Austin Regional with the winner advancing to play either Texas or Texas Southern. Indiana is headed to the NCAA Tournament for the second-straight year and eighth time overall.

In the Minneapolis Regional, top-seeded Minnesota will take on fourth-seeded Canisius. The winner will advance to play either Gonzaga or UCLA. Minnesota will make its 32nd NCAA Tournament appearance and first since 2016.

Third-seeded Ohio State will take on second-seeded South Carolina in the Greenville Regional. The winner will face either top-seeded East Carolina or UNCW. The Buckeyes are making their 21st appearance in the NCAA Tournament and second in the past three seasons.

Purdue earned the No. 2 seed in the Chapel Hill regional and will face third-seeded Houston. The winner will take on top-seeded North Carolina or N.C. A&T. The Boilermakers will be making their third appearance in the NCAA Tournament and the first since 2012.

The regional format for the DI baseball championship is a double-elimination tournament format with the winning 16 teams advancing to Super Regionals, which will be held from June 8-11. The top eight teams remaining will host the Super Regionals on campus in a best-of-three series with the eight winners advancing to Omaha.

The 72nd Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 16, at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb.


BTN Plus on BTN2Go

BTN Plus on BTN2Go

all times ET
3:00 PMBrown at Ohio St.Watch
5:00 PMColgate at MarylandWatch
Wednesday Feb 20
6:30 PMB1G Championships - Swimming FinalsWatch
8:00 PMIllinois at WisconsinWatch
Thursday Feb 21
11:00 AMB1G Championships - Swimming PrelimsWatch
6:30 PMB1G Championships - Swimming & Diving FinalsWatch
7:00 PMPurdue at Penn St.Watch
7:00 PMMinnesota at MarylandWatch

Watch hundreds of live non-televised Big Ten events via BTN Plus on BTN2Go.