Minnesota claims Big Ten tourney title, sweeps conference crowns

Minnesota claims Big Ten tourney title, sweeps conference crowns

The top-seeded Minnesota baseball team won the 2018 Big Ten Tournament title after posting a 6-4 win over second-seeded Purdue in the championship game Sunday at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb.

The Gophers become the first team since 2014 (Indiana) to win both the regular season and tournament titles in the same season. Toby Hanson paced Minnesota with two hits on two at bats, while Ben Mezzenga and Luke Pettersen had two RBI apiece. The Gophers earned their conference-leading 10th Big Ten Tournament title.

Minnesota improves to 41-13 on the season and earns the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Selection Show will air at 12:30 p.m. ET Monday on ESPNU.

Minnesota’s Jordan Kozicky was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player.

Below is the 2018 Big Ten Baseball All-Tournament Team:

Most Outstanding Player: Jordan Kozicky, Minnesota

All-Tournament Team
P – Patrick Fredrickson, Minnesota
P – Reggie Meyer, Minnesota
P – Seth Kinker, Ohio State
P – Tanner Andrews, Purdue
C – Nick Dalesandro, Purdue
1B – Jacson McGowan, Purdue
2B – Luke Pettersen, Minnesota
3B – Evan Warden, Purdue
SS – Harry Shipley, Purdue
OF – Jordan Kozicky, Minnesota
OF – Tyler Cowles, Ohio State
OF – Skyler Hunter, Purdue
DH – Toby Hanson, Minnesota


BTN Plus on BTN2Go

BTN Plus on BTN2Go

all times ET
5:00 PMColgate at MarylandWatch
6:30 PMB1G Championships - Swimming FinalsWatch
8:00 PMIllinois at WisconsinWatch
Thursday Feb 21
11:00 AMB1G Championships - Swimming PrelimsWatch
6:30 PMB1G Championships - Swimming & Diving FinalsWatch
7:00 PMPurdue at Penn St.Watch
7:00 PMMinnesota at MarylandWatch
7:00 PMRutgers at MichiganWatch

Watch hundreds of live non-televised Big Ten events via BTN Plus on BTN2Go.