Penn State claims five of Big Ten's seven individual NCAA wrestling titles

Jeff Curry - USA TODAY Sports

Penn State claims five of Big Ten's seven individual NCAA wrestling titles

Penn State wrestling locked up the NCAA team title before Saturday’s evening session even began in St. Louis, but they still made some serious noise in the finals.

The Nittany Lions sent five wrestlers to the mat Saturday night, and all five took home individual national championships. The sweep happened in five consecutive matches, and the mark tied the NCAA record for most individual titles.

The Penn State winners were Zain Retherford (149), Jason Nolf (157), Vincenzo Joseph (165), Mark Hall (174) and Bo Nickal (184). Joseph’s victory provided one of the night’s most thrilling moments, when he pinned two-time NCAA champion Isaiah Martinez of Illinois.

Ohio State’s Kyle Snyder also added to his already-impressive resume with his second national title. The Buckeyes finished second as a team behind Penn State.

Iowa’s Cory Clark also took home a title at 133, and celebrated in awesome fashion:

And no one can deny the Big Ten is the best wrestling conference in the country once again.

Alex Roux, editor

About Alex Roux: A graduate of the University of Illinois, Roux is a web editor and covers news across the Big Ten Conference on and BTN's social media platforms. Follow him on Twitter @arouxBTN.


BTN Plus on BTN2Go

BTN Plus on BTN2Go

all times ET
Wednesday Jan 23
8:00 PMRutgers at IowaWatch
Thursday Jan 24
7:00 PMIllinois at Michigan St.Watch
7:30 PMPenn St. at MichiganWatch
8:00 PMPurdue at MinnesotaWatch
8:00 PMNorthwestern at NebraskaWatch
8:00 PMPenn St. at WisconsinWatch
Friday Jan 25
3:00 PMNational Open at Penn State - Day 1Watch
6:00 PMMinnesota at Ohio St.Watch

Watch hundreds of live non-televised Big Ten events via BTN Plus on BTN2Go.