Dienhart: Here are my all-Big Ten award winners for 2016-2017

Dienhart: Here are my all-Big Ten award winners for 2016-2017

Another regular season is in the books and the official all-Big Ten teams have been announced. Now, here are my awards with a line on each winner.


  • Caleb Swanigan, Purdue, So. The double-double machine is the hardest working player in the nation—and the most productive.
  • Peter Jok, Iowa, Sr. A versatile wing player who can beat foes off the dribble and also with a three-pointer.
  • Ethan Happ, Wisconsin, Jr. Yes, his shooting is iffy, but the big fella impacts on many levels.
  • Nate Mason, Minnesota, Jr. The dynamic point guard averages 15.5 points and 5.1 assists as the catalyst for the resurgent Gophers.
  • Melo Trimble, Maryland, Jr. A money player who isn’t afraid of the big moment or the big shot.


Derrick Walton, Michigan, Sr.; Miles Bridges, Michigan State, Fr.; Bryant McIntosh, Northwestern, Jr.; Malcolm Hill, Illinois, Sr.; Tai Webster, Nebraska, Sr.

Player of the Year: Caleb Swanigan, Purdue. “Biggie” has been a huge presence with averages of 18.7 points and 12.6 rebounds. Best of all, he led the Boilermakers to the Big Ten title.

Coach of the Year: Richard Pitino, Minnesota. From eight wins last season to 23 this season, Pitino has pulled off the biggest improvement in the nation.

Freshman of the Year: Miles Bridges, Michigan State. He arrived in East Lansing as the Big Ten’s most hyped recruit. And, he has delivered with a 16.6 scoring average to go with 8.3 rebounds per game.


Email Tom Dienhart using the form below.

Tom Dienhart, BTN.com Senior Writer

About Tom Dienhart: BTN.com senior writer Tom Dienhart is a veteran sports journalist who covers Big Ten football and men's basketball for BTN.com and BTN TV. Find him on Twitter and Facebook, and send him questions to his weekly mailbag.


BTN Plus on BTN2Go

BTN Plus on BTN2Go

all times ET
3:00 PMIowa at PurdueWatch
3:30 PMPenn St. at Michigan St.Watch
4:00 PMPurdue at NorthwesternWatch
4:00 PMMinnesota at Penn St.Watch
4:00 PMNebraska at MichiganWatch
4:00 PMMichigan St. at NebraskaWatch
5:00 PMHawaii at Ohio St.Watch
5:00 PMIllinois St. at IllinoisWatch

Watch hundreds of live non-televised Big Ten events via BTN Plus on BTN2Go.