Indiana men claim 18th Big Ten indoor track & field title


Indiana men claim 18th Big Ten indoor track & field title

Indiana won the 2017 Big Ten Men’s Indoor Track & Field Championships on Saturday at the SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio. The Hoosiers claimed four individual titles en route to their 18th Big Ten Championship in program history and first since 2012.

Indiana recorded 112 team points, while Penn State finished in second place with 84. Wisconsin was third with 75.5 points, Nebraska finished fourth with 72 and Minnesota placed fifth with 67.5 points.

The Hoosiers earned first-place finishes from Willie Morrison in the shot put, Eric Bethea in the triple jump, Treyton Harris in the long jump and Daniel Kuhn in the 600-meter run. Indiana’s relay team of Joseph Murphy, Markevious Roach, Kuhn and Kyle Mau captured the title in the distance medley relay.

BTN will air tape-delayed coverage of the Big Ten Indoor Track & Field Championships at 6 p.m. ET on Monday.

1 Indiana 112
2 Penn State 84
3 Wisconsin 75.5
4 Nebraska 72
5 Minnesota 67.5
6 Iowa 60
T-7 Ohio State 54
T-7 Michigan 54
9 Illinois 51.5
10 Purdue 33.5
11 Michigan State 21
12 Rutgers 16

First Team
Jonathan Wells, Illinois
Treyton Harris, Indiana
Eric Bethea, Indiana
Willie Morrison, Indiana
Daniel Kuhn, Indiana
Joseph Murphy, Indiana
Markevious Roach, Indiana
Kyle Mau, Indiana
Aaron Mallett, Iowa
Grant Cartwright, Michigan
Tim Ehrhardt, Michigan State
Derek Wiebke, Minnesota
Cody Walton, Nebraska
Xavier Smith, Penn State
Dan Chisena, Penn State
Samuel Reiser, Penn State
Isaiah Harris, Penn State
Nick Gray, Ohio State
Izaiah Brown, Rutgers
Morgan McDonald, Wisconsin

Second Team
David Kendziera, Illinois
Jason Crist, Indiana
Mar’yea Harris, Iowa
Emmanuel Ogwo, Iowa
Collin Hofacker, Iowa
DeJuan Frye, Iowa
O’Shea Wilson, Iowa
Joseph Ellis, Michigan
Obsa Ali, Minnesota
Nate Roese, Minnesota
Mitch Hechsel, Minnesota
Shane Streich, Minnesota
Jack Wellenstein, Minnesota
Mitch Hechsel, Minnesota
Steven Cahoy, Nebraska
Nicholas Demaline, Ohio State
Deshawn Marshall, Ohio State
Bryce Williams, Penn State
Trent Nytes, Wisconsin