Wisconsin claims 48th Big Ten men's cross country title

Wisconsin claims 48th Big Ten men's cross country title

The Wisconsin men’s cross country program won its conference-leading 48th Big Ten Championship on Sunday with 63 points, placing two runners among the individual top five at Les Bolstad Golf Course. The Badgers claimed their first Big Ten team title since 2014.

[ MORE: Looking for more cross country video? Find that here! ]

Wisconsin junior Morgan McDonald won the individual Big Ten Championship with an 8K time of 24:35.7. Two-time individual Big Ten champion Malachy Schrobilgen placed fifth, crossing the finish line in 24:48.1.

Michigan State finished in second place with 66 points, and was led by Sherod Hardt, who finished second individually with a time of 24:43.9. Indiana finished third in the team standings (92), with Jason Crist (24:44.6) and Matthew Schwartzer (24:45.9) earning third and fourth-place individual tallies, respectively.

Host Minnesota finished in fourth place (119), led by Charlie Lawrence’s time of 24:54.9, good for a ninth-place individual finish. Michigan rounded out the top-five with 123 team points, including a sixth-place individual finish by Aaron Baumgarten (24:49.0).

The first and second All-Big Ten teams can be found below. The Athlete, Freshman and Coach of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 1. The top seven finishers at the Big Ten Championships earn first-team All-Big Ten honors, while the eighth through 14th place finishers are named second-team All-Big Ten.

First-Team All-Big Ten
Jason Crist, Indiana
Matthew Schwartzer, Indiana
Aaron Baumgarten, Michigan
Sherod Hardt, Michigan State
Evan Stifel, Ohio State
Morgan McDonald, Wisconsin
Malachy Schrobilgen, Wisconsin

Second-Team All-Big Ten
Dylan Lafond, Illinois
Ben Veatch, Indiana
Ryan Robinson, Michigan State
Charlie Lawrence, Minnesota
Connor Olson, Minnesota
Matt Welch, Minnesota
Olin Hacker, Wisconsin


BTN Plus on BTN2Go

BTN Plus on BTN2Go

all times ET
1:00 PMSIUE at WisconsinWatch
2:00 PMChattanooga at IndianaWatch
2:00 PMClarion at MichiganWatch
2:00 PMBuffalo at Penn St.Watch
Monday Feb 25
7:00 PMWisconsin at RutgersWatch
Tuesday Feb 26
3:00 PMWagner at RutgersWatch
3:00 PMCincinnati at IndianaWatch
8:00 PMIndiana at NorthwesternWatch

Watch hundreds of live non-televised Big Ten events via BTN Plus on BTN2Go.