Finn helps lead Michigan to Big Ten women's cross country crown

Finn helps lead Michigan to Big Ten women's cross country crown

The Michigan women’s cross country program won its 10th Big Ten Championship on Sunday with 63 points, placing four runners among the individual top 20 at Les Bolstad Golf Course. The Wolverines claimed their first Big Ten team title since 2012.

[ MORE: Looking for more cross country video? Find that here! ]

Michigan senior Erin Finn won the individual Big Ten Championship with a 6K time of 20:37.3, becoming the third Big Ten student to claim three individual conference titles, and the first since Indiana’s Michelle Dekkers earned three straight from 1988-90. Finn also won individual Big Ten Championships in 2013 and 2015.

Penn State, the 2015 Big Ten Champion, finished in second place with 70 team points, and was led by Tessa Barrett, who finished third individually after crossing the finish line in 21:04.8. Michigan State finished third in the team standings (80) with a pair of runners among the top 10, including a fifth-place tally from Alexis Wiersma (21:07.9).

Host Minnesota finished in fourth place (120), led by Madeline Strandemo’s time of 21:10.2, good for an eighth-place individual finish. Ohio State rounded out the top five with 130 team points.

Joining Finn, Barrett and Wiersma among the individual top five were Indiana’s Katherine Receveur in second place (21:02.5) and Michigan’s Gina Sereno in fourth place with a time of 21:07.3.

The first and second All-Big Ten teams can be found below. The Athlete, Freshman and Coach of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 1. The top seven finishers at the Big Ten Championships earn first-team All-Big Ten honors, while the eighth through 14th place finishers are named second-team All-Big Ten.

First-Team All-Big Ten
Katherine Receveur, Indiana
Erin Finn, Michigan
Gina Sereno, Michigan
Alexis Wiersma, Michigan State
Tessa Barrett, Penn State
Jillian Hunsberger, Penn State
Emma Benner, Purdue

Second-Team All-Big Ten
Avery Evenson, Michigan
Rachele Schulist, Michigan State
Megan Hasz, Minnesota
Madeline Strandemo, Minnesota
Aubrey Roberts, Northwestern
Sarah Kanney, Ohio State
Elizabeth Chikotas, Penn State


BTN Plus on BTN2Go

BTN Plus on BTN2Go

all times ET
10:00 AMB1G Indoor Track & Field Championships Day 2Watch
11:00 AMB1G Championships - Swimming PrelimsWatch
12:00 PMBucknell at Ohio St.Watch
2:00 PMStanford at NebraskaWatch
4:00 PMOhio St. at WisconsinWatch
7:00 PMWisconsin at Penn St.Watch
1:00 PMSIUE at WisconsinWatch
2:00 PMChattanooga at IndianaWatch

Watch hundreds of live non-televised Big Ten events via BTN Plus on BTN2Go.