Maryland wins Big Ten Men's Soccer Tournament title

Maryland wins Big Ten Men's Soccer Tournament title

No. 3 seed Maryland topped No. 1 seed Ohio State 2-0 to win the Terrapins’ second-straight Big Ten Men’s Soccer Tournament title on Sunday.  With the win, the Terrapins earned the Big Ten’s automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.

Maryland is making its 15th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance, and its 33rd overall.

Eryk Williamson scored a goal in the 10th minute off of an assist from Ivan Magalhaes, and Tsubasa Endoh secured the win with a goal in the 88th minute with an assist from Williamson. The NCAA Selection Show will air live on on Monday at 1 p.m. ET.

In 2014, Maryland beat Indiana 2-1 in the tourney title match.

Here’s how the entire tournament played out:

First round
No. 9 Penn State def. No. 8 Michigan State, 2-1 (OT)

No. 2 Indiana def. No. 7 Wisconsin, 1-0
No. 3 Maryland def.. No. 6 Michigan, 5-2
No. 4 Rutgers def. No. 5 Northwestern, 2-0
No. 1 Ohio State def. No. 9. Penn State, 1-0 (OT)

Maryland def. Indiana, 3-2 on penalty kicks
Ohio State 4, Rutgers 0