Indiana seals second straight outright Big Ten title

For the second consecutive season, Indiana is the outright Big Ten champion. The Hoosiers, who owned a share of the conference title entering the final series of the season, wrapped up the outright crown Friday night by virtue of Illinois’ victory over second-place Nebraska. Indiana did its part, too, knocking off Minnesota, 7-3, later in the night to tally its 20th Big Ten win.

“To be able to do it two years in a row, that’s pretty special,” Indiana head coach Tracy Smith said.

The Hoosiers close out the regular season Saturday vs. Minnesota before heading to the Big Ten tourney, which they won last season en route to becoming the first Big Ten team to make the College World Series since 1984 (Michigan).

Jordan Smith makes highlight-reel grab:

Northwestern 6, Ohio State 2:


Your Opinion?
Show Comments (No Comments)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Have a question for BTN Customer Service? Please e-mail us here