Penn State wins 4th straight B1G Championships

Penn State won its fourth straight Big Ten Wrestling Championships title on Sunday. The Nittany Lions (140.5) become just the fifth school to win four consecutive conference titles and the first since Iowa won 25 in a row from 1974-1998. Penn State took home two individual titles, as Ed Ruth and David Taylor closed their careers as just the 12th and 13th wrestlers to be four-time champs.

Iowa finished in second place with 134 points, while Minnesota took third with 114.5. Fourth-place Ohio State (86.5 points) and fifth-place Nebraska (79 points) rounded out the top five.

Taylor was named Big Ten Wrestler of the Year and Wrestler of the Championships. The senior becomes just the second grappler to be named Wrestler of the Year three times, joining Iowa’s Mark Ironside (1996-98). He is also the fourth consecutive Nittany Lion to be named Wrestler of the Championships.

Head Coach Cael Sanderson took home Coach of the Year honors for the fourth year in a row, while Northwestern’s Jason Tsirtsis was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Tsirtsis becomes the second Wildcat to win the honor, joining Scott Schatzman in 1996.

[ MORE: View the final Big Ten Championships standings & brackets ]

Wrestler of the Year: David Taylor, Penn State
Freshman of the Year: Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern
Coach of the Year: Cael Sanderson, Penn State
Wrestler of the Championships: David Taylor, Penn State

Jesse Delgado, Illinois
Tony Ramos, Iowa
Tony Nelson, Minnesota
James Green, Nebraska
Robert Kokesh, Nebraska
Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern
Nick Heflin, Ohio State
Logan Stieber, Ohio State
Ed Ruth, Penn State
David Taylor, Penn State

125-pound champion Jesse Delgado (Illinois)

125 lb Champion – Jesse Delgado, Illinois #B1GWRE100

A photo posted by Big Ten Wrestling (@b1gwrestling) on

133-pound champion Tony Ramos (Iowa)

133 lb Champion – Tony Ramos, Iowa #B1GWRE100

A photo posted by Big Ten Wrestling (@b1gwrestling) on

141-pound champion Logan Stieber (Ohio State)

141 lb Champion – Logan Stieber, OSU

A photo posted by Big Ten Wrestling (@b1gwrestling) on

157-pound champion James Green (Nebraska)

157 lb Champion – James Green, Nebraska #B1GWRE100

A photo posted by Big Ten Wrestling (@b1gwrestling) on

165-pound champion David Taylor (Penn State)

165 lb Champion and four-time B1G champ, Penn State's David Taylor #B1GWRE100

A photo posted by Big Ten Wrestling (@b1gwrestling) on

174-pound champion Robert Kokesh (Nebraska)

174 lb Champion – Robert Kokesh, Nebraska #B1GWRE100

A photo posted by Big Ten Wrestling (@b1gwrestling) on

184-pound champion Ed Ruth (Penn State)

184 lb and 4x Big Ten Champion, Penn State's Ed Ruth #B1GWRE100

A photo posted by Big Ten Wrestling (@b1gwrestling) on

197-pound champion Nick Heflin (Ohio State)

Heavyweight champions Tony Nelson (Minnesota)

1 Comment

Your Opinion?
Show Comments (1 Comment)
B1Gfan MI on 3/9/2014 @ 7:44pm EDT Said:

By far the best league in the nation ! Congratulations to all the champions , good luck at NCAA Championships . Bring back the hardware .