Merriman: My Mount Rushmore of B1G hoops players

Who would make your Mount Rushmore of Big Ten basketball players? That has been a common question asked after four-time NBA MVP LeBron James selected Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird and Oscar Robertson. The same question can be posed to Big Ten fans. With so many good options, it is tough to choose just four top players in Big Ten basketball history.

With that said, we wanted to make it a little easier for you. In honor of Presidents Day, here is my team-by-team breakdown of who would make Mount Rushmore.

Big Ten Mount Rushmore (All Time)
Magic Johnson, Michigan State, 1977-1999
Jerry Lucas, Ohio State, 1959-1962
Glen Rice, Michigan, 1985-1989
Isiah Thomas, Indiana, 1979-1981

Nick Anderson, SG, 1987-1989
Dee Brown, PG, 2002-2006
Nick Weatherspoon, SF, 1970-1973
Deron Williams, PG, 2002-2005

Steve Alford, PG, 1983-1987
Calbert Cheaney, SF, 1989-1993
Scott May, SF, 1972-1976
Isiah Thomas, PG, 1979-1981

B.J. Armstrong, PG, 1985-1989
Ronnie Lester, PG, 1976-1980
Roy Marble, SG, 1986-89
Herb Wilkinson, SG, 1944-1947

Trey Burke, PG, 2011-2013
Glen Rice, SG, 1985-1989
Cazzie Russell, SF, 1963-1966
Chris Webber, PF, 1991-1993

Michigan State
Mateen Cleaves, PG, 1996-2000
Magic Johnson, PG, 1977-1979
Shawn Respert, SG, 1990-1995
Scott Skiles, PG, 1982-1986

Jim Brewer, PF, 1970-1973
Bobby Jackson, PG, 1995-1997
Kevin McHale, PF, 1976-1980
Mychal Thompson, PF, 1974-1978

Dave Hoppen, C, 1982-1986
Tyronn Lue, PG, 1995-1998
Eric Piatkowski, SF, 1990-1994
Andre Smith, C, 1977-1981

Evan Eschmeyer, C, 1995-1999
Billy McKinney, PG, 1973-1977
John Shurna, PF, 2008-2012
Michael Thompson, PG, 2007-2011

Ohio State
John Havlicek, SF, 1959-1962
Jim Jackson, SG, 1989-1992
Jerry Lucas, C, 1959-1962
Evan Turner, SF, 2007-2010

Penn State
Talor Battle, PG, 2007-2011
Frank Brickowski, PF, 1977-1981
Calvin Booth, C, 1995-1999
Joe Crispin, PG, 1997-2001

Terry Dischinger, SF, 1959-1962
Rick Mount, SG, 1967-1970
Glenn Robinson, SF, 1992-1994
John Wooden, SG, 1929-1932

Michael Finley, SG, 1991-1995
Devin Harris, PG, 2001-2004
Alando Tucker, SF, 2002-2007
Wes Matthews, PG, 1977-1980

About Sean Merriman web editor Sean Merriman covers football and men’s basketball and provides original content for You can follow him on Twitter @BTNSean.


Your Opinion?
Show Comments (12 Comments)
R Colony on 2/17/2014 @ 9:00am EDT Said:

Two you left off were Murrt Weir and Don Nelson of Iowa. A good case could be made for Don to be on your Mount Rushmore.

David on 2/17/2014 @ 9:25am EDT Said:

Chris Webber? An admitted cheat and liar whose association with Ed Martin ERASED all those stats upon which I presume you are basing your selection. Or are Chris’ off-court actions irrelevant to this discussion…

Tim on 2/17/2014 @ 10:28am EDT Said:

Only John Wooden and one other from before 1959?

B1Gfan MI on 2/17/2014 @ 11:13am EDT Said:

A good list ! If many had stayed 4 years, they would merit national recognition on NCAA list.

JJ on 2/17/2014 @ 11:42am EDT Said:

Bobby Jackson? How do you include a player who admitted to academic fraud?

Richard Scholl on 2/17/2014 @ 12:17pm EDT Said:

FYI: Jerry Lucas and Terry Dischinger were centers in college.

CaptainKirk on 2/17/2014 @ 3:54pm EDT Said:

Dan Daikich’s Big Ten Mount Rushmore
1. Aaron Craft
2. Aaron Graft
3. Aaron Craft
4. Aaron Craft

Faygo on 2/17/2014 @ 5:09pm EDT Said:

Interesting lists, but I would probably replace MSU’s Shawn Respert (much as I admire him) with Jumpin’ Johnny Green from the late ’50s.

Doug on 2/17/2014 @ 7:34pm EDT Said:

Chris Webber, my God even the true Michigan fans want nothing to do with that name.

Mike on 2/17/2014 @ 7:57pm EDT Said:

Joe Barry Carroll and Steve Smith are a couple of good ones

Dave Sy on 2/17/2014 @ 11:01pm EDT Said:

Don Nelson for sure!

Brian on 3/18/2014 @ 2:17pm EDT Said:

Bruce “Sky” King came to mind for me with Iowa.