Russell Rules: Wilson 6th B1G QB to win Super Bowl

Russell Rules: Wilson 6th B1G QB to win Super Bowl

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Editor’s note: In the first edition of this story, Michigan State’s Earl Morrall was not accounted for as a Super Bowl-winning quarterback. Morrall came off the bench and replaced Johnny Unitas in the Baltimore Colts’ Super Bowl V win.

Russell Wilson became the sixth Big Ten quarterback to win a Super Bowl on Sunday night. Wilson, the one-year Wisconsin standout who led the Badgers to the 2012 Rose Bowl, joined Len Dawson (Purdue), Earl Morrall (Michigan State), Bob Griese (Purdue), Tom Brady (Michigan) and Drew Brees (Purdue) in the distinguished group.

[ MORE: See how ex-Big Ten products fared in Super Bowl XLVIII ]

As you can gather from the list of players, Wilson is Wisconsin’s first Super Bowl quarterback, which means four Big Ten schools now boast a Super Bowl signal-caller.

Two of the quarterbacks, Griese and Brady, have won multiple Super Bowls, with the latter claiming three.

Wilson also became just the fourth quarterback to win the Super Bowl in his second season, joining Brady, Kurt Warner and Ben Roethlisberger.

In Sunday’s 43-8 blowout over Denver, Wilson completed 18-of-25 passes for 206 yards and two touchdowns to help lead Seattle to its first Super Bowl. The dual-threat quarterback also added 26 yards rushing.

Did you see this great picture of Wilson and former Wisconsin teammate Montee Ball?

Or this shot?

About Brent Yarina senior editor Brent Yarina covers football and men’s basketball for He writes the popular uniform feature “Clothes Call,” which also focuses on the latest cosmetic changes across Big Ten arenas and stadiums. Read all of his work here. You can subscribe to Yarina’s RSS feed and follow him on Twitter @BTNBrentYarina.