See who won Big Ten's top individual honors

Monday, BTN released the 2013 All-Big Ten Football Teams and 12 of the conference’s individual trophies. Tonight, we released the final five trophies, including Offensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year. See all the winners in this post.

[ MORE: View official 2013 All-Big Ten Football Teams ]

Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year (coaches vote): Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
Named for Ohio State’s Woody Hayes and Michigan’s Bo Schembechler

Dave McClain Coach of the Year (media vote): Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
Named for Wisconsin’s Dave McClain

Mark Dantonio

Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year: Christian Hackenberg, Penn State
Named for Minnesota’s Darrell Thompson and Indiana’s Antwaan Randle El

Christian Hackenberg

Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year: Braxton Miller, Ohio State
Named for Northwestern’s Otto Graham and Ohio State’s Eddie George

Braxton Miller

Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Borland, Wisconsin
Named for Minnesota’s Bronko Nagurski and Michigan’s Charles Woodson

Chris Borland


Here are the other trophy winners, handed out Monday night:

Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award: Drew Brees, Purdue
Named for Minnesota’s Tony Dungy and Indiana’s Anthony Thompson

Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award: Gene Washington, Michigan State
Named for Michigan’s Gerald Ford and Iowa’s Nile Kinnick

Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year: Braxton Miller, Ohio State
Named for Purdue’s Bob Griese and Drew Brees

Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year: Allen Robinson, Penn State
Named for Wisconsin’s Pat Richter and Michigan’s Desmond Howard

Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year: Carlos Hyde, Ohio State
Named for Wisconsin’s Alan Ameche and Ron Dayne

Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year: Devin Funchess, Michigan
Named for Penn State’s Ted Kwalick and Iowa’s Dallas Clark

Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year: Taylor Lewan, Michigan
Named for Nebraska’s Dave Rimington and Ohio State’s Orlando Pace

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year: Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State
Named for Michigan State’s Bubba Smith and Penn State’s Courtney Brown

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year: Chris Borland, Wisconsin
Named for Illinois’ Dick Butkus and Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year: Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
Named for Ohio State’s Jack Tatum and Purdue’s Rod Woodson

Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year: Jeff Budzien, Northwestern
Named for Wisconsin’s Jim Bakken and Michigan State’s Morten Andersen

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year: Cody Webster, Purdue
Named for Illinois’ Dike Eddleman and Michigan State’s Brandon Fields


Your Opinion?
Show Comments (21 Comments)
Big K on 12/3/2013 @ 6:49pm EDT Said:

Borland wins with a life time achievement award. Screwed Shazier again.

dave on 12/3/2013 @ 7:08pm EDT Said:

Borland over Shazier? That’s just stupid.

Brad on 12/3/2013 @ 7:12pm EDT Said:

All due respect to Borland, Shazier had a much better year, borne out by his statistical domination of Borland.

Matt Barker on 12/3/2013 @ 7:51pm EDT Said:

These awards are a total joke. Why even bother with them?

Ryan Shazier: 122 total tackles, 82 solos, 21.0 tackles for loss, six sacks and four forced fumbles.

Chris Borland: 102 total tackles, 64 solos, 8.5 tackles for loss, four sacks, one forced fumble.

Bucks on 12/3/2013 @ 8:12pm EDT Said:

Congrats to all of the winners. Buckeye fan here, and I gotta say I love Dantonio. Anyone who tortures scUM like him is a great man in my book!

Cindy on 12/3/2013 @ 8:20pm EDT Said:

Urban Meyer is not the Coach of the Year? I guess you can argue with perfection. Sad.

Mark Schuller on 12/3/2013 @ 8:48pm EDT Said:

Nice going Big Ten. Heaven forbid you use an objective measure like statistics to decide these awards. There is simply not an argument to be made for picking Borland over Shazier. Guess we are playing the everyone gets a ribbon so they can feel good about finishing second in their division game. Travesty…..

BIG DADDY D on 12/3/2013 @ 9:02pm EDT Said:

All respect due to Shazy-aye. Borland played a bigger part in his teams success, Look when he was out for 2 games . You saw and felt a deflated team. Shazier enjoy your championships big and natty. let Borland have this 1.

Matt on 12/3/2013 @ 9:07pm EDT Said:

Shazier not winning is crazy…far superior stats and leadership but I guess it’s becoming more of a career achievement award…thanks for giving Ryan Shazier extra motivation in the B1G Championship Game!

Troy G on 12/3/2013 @ 9:26pm EDT Said:

It just amazes me how COY misses OSU every year. How long has it been? Look at what JT did, and now what UM has done. And…. Borland over Shazier? Are we looking at the same numbers? WOW! What is the criteria for these awards?

Bill F on 12/3/2013 @ 10:06pm EDT Said:

Your awards are largely a joke. Borland? Really? And I am not even a fan of the Big 10.

Tom Brown on 12/3/2013 @ 11:38pm EDT Said:

Who are the morons who vote on these nonsense awards?

Wayne Wilkins on 12/4/2013 @ 12:48am EDT Said:

Apparently going 24-0 is no big deal, any coach can do it…I’m a Buckeye and I love Dantonio but geeze

Squeek Eron on 12/4/2013 @ 2:14am EDT Said:

As a Buckeye fan, I agree with the Borland choice. That guy hits like a ton of bricks and he is all over the ball all the time. Excellent motor. I noticed his standout play last year when nobody in the media was talking about him. I’m sad that the Buckeyes let this Ohio boy get away.

PAWL on 12/4/2013 @ 6:40am EDT Said:

Name me one person who looked at the stats Matt Barker put up and voted for Borland. What a joke.

So Meyer takes over a team that was 6-7 and goes 24-0. What more can he do? Just call it the Big 11 COY since you’re just disqualifying one team entirely.

BTW, BTN you can hire me for less money than Dienhart and I’m not that dumb. No OSU O-Linemen on his 1st or 2nd teams?? Dude is a joke.

shookwriter27 on 12/4/2013 @ 9:58am EDT Said:

Mark DeAntonio was the obvious choice.

Michael Tatro on 12/4/2013 @ 12:00pm EDT Said:

Gary Anderson of Wisconsin should have been considered in the Coach of the Year category. Heck, Wisconsin should have won the award just for being smart enough to purge Ole BB! Had they not choked against Penn State, I think they would have been in the running. GA is a class act, and we at Wisconsin are looking forward to a long time with him, and his staff.

Mark Cunneen on 12/4/2013 @ 12:51pm EDT Said:

Borland is the only Badger on first or second team on defense from a defense that ranked second in the Big 10. That tells me either the rest were disrespected or Borland deserves any award he receives!

Mike on 12/4/2013 @ 1:05pm EDT Said:

How is Dantonio the obvious choice? He won it several years ago, and did not live up to expectations last year. Meyer took a 6-7 team and has won 24 in a row with a lot of the same players. You think maybe coaching had something to do with the streak?

Django on 12/4/2013 @ 11:24pm EDT Said:

You guys bickering over D’antonio vs Meyer have it wrong from the get go. Coach of the Year should be the guy who makes his talent exceed expectations. I could have coached MSU or OSU with the talent they have. Nope… The deserving candidates were either Jerry Kill or Kirk Ferentz. They did a more masterful job of coaching with what they had to work with than D’antonio or Meyer.

douglas on 12/6/2013 @ 12:06am EDT Said:

Django Do you follow the B1G? If you did you would know Dantonio does it mainly with 2-3 star recruits.