Indiana's David Kenney ejected for targeting

Make it three Big Ten players who have been ejected as a result of college football’s new targeting rule. On Saturday, Indiana’s David Kenney was the latest to be given the boot for his hit on Illinois quarterback Nathan Scheelhaase late in the fourth quarter. Watch the hit in this post.

Kenney, who joins Nebraska’s Stanley Jean-Baptiste and Ohio State’s Bradley Roby as the other Big Ten players to be ejected, also will have to sit out the first half of next week’s game at Wisconsin as a result of the ejection.

Watch Jean-Baptiste’s hit:

And Roby’s hit:

Find out more about:

6 Comments

Your Opinion?
Show Comments (6 Comments)
Al Pittman on 11/9/2013 @ 8:00pm EST Said:

Bad call on David Kenney, all he did was he shoved the Ill QB to the ground, can defensive players no longer “hit” QB’s?, he was trying to stop Sheelehause from making a completed pass, really bad call ref.

P on 11/9/2013 @ 9:20pm EST Said:

Michigan is lucky they didn’t lose a guy for a block on a punt return!

Tony W on 11/10/2013 @ 8:17am EST Said:

Kenny’s hit was the least severe of the three examples, but he was late and he did get his helmet above the numbers. The officials have to make that call. Hopefully he’ll learn from that and not put himself in that situation again.

David Mc on 11/10/2013 @ 9:04am EST Said:

I don’t like the call on the Nebraska guy for sure – how can a receiver or running back with the ball be defenseless? Do you have to wait for them to turn around and say, “Hi, I’ll be your cornerback for this place. I am going to hit you and try to tackle you now!” Leading with the head? It is on the top of your body and, as everyone knows, where the head goes the body follows! I didn’t see one of those where they “led” with the head, like in spearing (which, when was the last time you saw THAT called and it happens all the time at the end of tackles). Hitting them high? From what I could see, they were all high chest, not head. The only thing I would say is the guy who hit the QB was LATE, so should have been a personal foul – but not “targeting”.

Duckie on 11/10/2013 @ 6:23pm EST Said:

Just go for the knees. Or play two hand touch.

Dan Johnson on 11/11/2013 @ 1:09pm EST Said:

I agree with David Mc – Very well written- and if you watch the video closely, the Husker players’ “helmet” actually slid up after the initial hit and also, even more important, the receiver “lowered” his head into the contact- no way that was targeting.