Video: Indiana honors Jim Delany's 25th season

How does Jim Delany kick off his 25th year on the job? The Big Ten commissioner (boldly) joins the 2013 BTN bus tour for the first few stops on its trek across Big Ten country. At Tuesday’s opening stop in Bloomington, Ind., the Hoosiers and AD Fred Glass presented Delany with a couple gifts to commemorate the milestone season.

[ Program Reminder: Watch the Indiana Preview Show at 8 p.m. ET Monday on BTN/BTN2Go ]

And the bus will be a little fuller now that Delany has one of Indiana’s new helmets – with No. 25 on the sides – and a personalized No. 25 home jersey in his possession.

This is a nice gesture by the Hoosiers, and I hope other schools follow suit. It’s always fun to see how creative teams get with commemorative gifts. With this one, though, you can’t help but wonder if Delany would have liked to get his hands on Indiana’s much-talked-about chrome candy stripe lid. No, I kid. Well done, Hoosiers.

[ RELATED: Read Tom Dienhart’s thoughts from Indiana practice ]

Delany also addressed the Hoosiers on Tuesday.

View our tour schedule and relive all the stops:

SCHOOLS
PRACTICE
SHOW ON BTN (8 p.m. ET)
Indiana
RECAP | TWEETS | PICS Monday, Aug. 12
Ohio State
Wednesday, Aug. 7 Tuesday, Aug. 13
Penn State
Thursday, Aug. 8 Wednesday, Aug. 14
Michigan
Saturday, Aug. 10 Friday, Aug. 16
Michigan State
Sunday, Aug. 11 Saturday, Aug. 17
Purdue
Monday, Aug. 12
Monday, Aug. 19
Northwestern
Tuesday, Aug. 13
Tuesday, Aug. 20
Illinois
Wednesday, Aug. 14
Wednesday, Aug. 21
Wisconsin
Thursday, Aug. 15
Thursday, Aug. 22
Minnesota
Friday, Aug. 16
Friday, Aug. 23
Nebraska
Monday, Aug. 19
Saturday, Aug. 24
Iowa
Tuesday, Aug. 20
Sunday, Aug. 25

**

About Brent Yarina BTN.com senior editor Brent Yarina covers football and men’s basketball for BTN.com. He writes the popular uniform feature “Clothes Call,” which also focuses on the latest cosmetic changes across Big Ten arenas and stadiums. Read all of his work here. You can subscribe to Yarina’s RSS feed and follow him on Twitter @BTNBrentYarina.

Find out more about: ,

1 Comment

Your Opinion?
Show Comments (1 Comment)
shookwriter27 on 8/6/2013 @ 2:50pm EST Said:

The Big Ten has really grown under Jim Delaney’s leadership.