3 B1G teams headed to NCAA Rowing Championships

Three Big Ten teams were selected to the 2013 NCAA Division I Rowing Championships, the NCAA Rowing Committee announced on Tuesday. The championships will be held May 31-June 2 at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, the site of last weekend’s Big Ten Rowing Championships.

Michigan, Ohio State and Wisconsin each earned bids to the championships and are seeking their first NCAA team titles. The regatta includes 22 teams, and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers. Two Big Ten boats look to defend their national crowns as the Michigan second varsity eight and Ohio State first varsity four captured NCAA titles last season.

The Wolverines are making their 13th appearance in the meet, the Big Ten Champion Buckeyes are making their 14th consecutive visit, and 15th overall, to the national event and the Badgers appear in the regatta for the 10th time.


Your Opinion?
Show Comments (No Comments)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Have a question for BTN Customer Service? Please e-mail us here