Michigan claims 12th NCAA swimming and diving title

Michigan won its Big Ten leading 12th NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships title and first since 1995 on Saturday night at the IU Natatorium on the campus of Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) in Indianapolis, Ind. The Wolverines totaled 480 team points en route to the national title, while ninth-place Indiana finished in the top 10 with 201 points.

[ MGoBlue.com: Even dozen: Wolverines lead coast-to-coast to win 12th NCAA title ]

Michigan had 27 top-10 finishes on the way to the crown, including individual titles from Connor Jaeger in the 500-yard freestyle (4:10.84) and 1,650 freestyle (14:27.18) and the Wolverines’ 200-yard medley relay team consisting of Miguel Ortiz, Bruno Ortiz, Sean Fletcher and Zach Turk (1:22.27). Wisconsin’s Andrew Teduits also won a national title, taking the 200 backstroke crown in 1:38.27.

[ IUHoosiers.com: Indiana finishes ninth at NCAA Championships ]

1. Michigan – 480
2. California – 406.5
3. Arizona – 313.5
4. Southern Cal – 289
5. Texas – 288
6. Florida – 285.5
7. Stanford – 282
8. Auburn – 226.5
9. Indiana – 201
10. Georgia – 163


Your Opinion?
Show Comments (No Comments)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Have a question for BTN Customer Service? Please e-mail us here