Nebraska wins 3rd consecutive gymnastics crown

Nebraska wins 3rd consecutive gymnastics crown

Paced by a program-record 49.725 on vault, the No. 9 Nebraska women’s gymnastics team captured its third consecutive conference crown – the last two coming in the Big Ten – Saturday night at the 2013 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Championships.

The Huskers amassed 197.800 points, a conference championship school record, on their way to sending head coach Dan Kendig to his 14th conference title at Nebraska. Nebraska’s crown marked the first time the program has earned three straight conference titles since 2001-02-03.

[ HUSKERS.COM: Nebraska claims third consecutive conference title ]

Team Score      Vault       Bars       Beam       Floor       Total
Nebraska            49.725     49.375      49.225     49.475     197.800
Michigan             49.575     49.400      49.000     49.250     197.225
Minnesota           49.350     49.000      49.200     49.225     196.775
Illinois                 49.025     49.025      49.100     49.325     196.475
Penn State         48.925     49.175      48.600     49.125     195.825
Michigan State    48.950     48.900      48.775     48.825     195.450
Ohio State          48.750     48.925      49.150     49.125     195.450
Iowa                   48.650     49.100      46.550     49.100     193.400

Gymnast of the Year: Joanna Sampson, MICH
Freshman of the Year: Lindsay Mable, MINN
Coach of the Year: Meg Stephenson, MINN

Amber See, Illinois
Alina Weinstein, Illinois
Natalie Beilstein, Michigan
Brittnee Martinez, Michigan
Joanna Sampson, Michigan
Katie Zurales, Michigan
Lisa Burt, Michigan State
Taira Neal, Michigan State
Janell Campbell, Minnesota
Lindsay Mable, Minnesota
Hollie Blanske, Nebraska
Jessie DeZiel, Nebraska
Janelle Giblin, Nebraska
Jennifer Lauer, Nebraska
Kassandra Nathe, Nebraska
Brittany Skinner, Nebraska
Emily Wong, Nebraska
Alyssa Marohn, Ohio State
Sarah Miller, Ohio State
Sharaya Musser, Penn State

Sunny Kato, ILL
Kaitlynn Urano, IOWA
Teresa Arthur, MICH
Kate Filosi, MSU
Janell Campbell, MINN
Emily Wong, NEB
Sarah Grady, OSU
Kassidy Stauder, PSU


BTN Plus on BTN2Go

BTN Plus on BTN2Go

all times ET
7:00 PMPenn St. at Ohio St.Watch
7:00 PMNorthwestern at MichiganWatch
8:00 PMMichigan St. at WisconsinWatch
Thursday Jan 26
7:00 PMWisconsin at Ohio St.Watch
8:00 PMOhio St. at MinnesotaWatch
8:00 PMMaryland at IllinoisWatch
Friday Jan 27
2:00 PMLouisville at IndianaWatch
5:00 PMPSU National Open: Day 1Watch

Watch hundreds of live non-televised Big Ten events via BTN Plus on BTN2Go.