BTN Announces 2012 Women's Volleyball Coverage

CHICAGO – BTN will televise more volleyball this season than ever before, with at least 50 matches set to air on BTN.  The season begins with defending Big Ten Champion Nebraska hosting 2011 National Champion UCLA and Stanford at Penn State in the season’s first two weeks. The games will also be available at BTN2Go.

Starting Wednesday, Sept. 19, with Nebraska at Penn State, BTN’s fall lineup will feature a match every Wednesday and Friday evenings through the beginning of November. Also built into the schedule are at least two wildcard dates in November, allowing BTN to select the most appealing matchups as teams vie for the Big Ten title.

BTN’s volleyball coverage also includes the BTN Volleyball Report, a new, weekly web-only show hosted by Mike Wolf, who does volleyball play-by-play. Fans can also follow the entire season on Twitter @BTNVolleyball.

Last season the Big Ten tied a conference record by sending eight teams to the NCAA Tournament, with five earning top-16 seeds. Illinois won its first five matches in the tournament before falling to UCLA, 3-1, in the title match.  The Big Ten led the country with seven volleyball teams ranked in the final 2011 AVCA Division I Coaches Poll, including three top-10 squads.

Below is the schedule of live matches that will air on both BTN and BTN2Go. Additional matches will be scheduled during the season for delayed broadcast as part of the network’s Student U initiative.

BTN 2012 WOMEN’S VOLLEYBALL TELEVISION SCHEDULE (All times Eastern)

Saturday, August 25                       7:00PM                 UCLA at Nebraska (LIVE)
Friday, August 31                           8:00PM                 Stanford at Penn State (LIVE)
Wednesday, September 19             8:00PM                 Nebraska at Penn State (LIVE)
Friday, September 21                     8:00PM                 Minnesota at Illinois (LIVE)
Wednesday, September 26             8:00PM                 Michigan State at Nebraska (LIVE)
Friday, September 28                     8:00PM                 Ohio State at Minnesota (LIVE)
Saturday, September 29                 8:00PM                 Illinois at Purdue (LIVE)
Wednesday, October 3                   8:00PM                 Michigan at Minnesota (LIVE)
Friday, October 5                           8:00PM                 Nebraska at Purdue (LIVE)
Friday, October 5                           TBD                      Michigan State at Wisconsin (On-Delay)
Wednesday, October 10                 8:00PM                 Illinois at Michigan (LIVE)
Friday, October 12                         8:00PM                 Purdue at Penn State (LIVE)
Tuesday, October 16                      8:00PM                 Purdue at Indiana (LIVE)
Wednesday, October 17                 8:00PM                 Penn State at Ohio State (LIVE)
Friday, October 19                         8:00PM                 Indiana at Wisconsin
Sunday, October 21                       3:00PM                 Iowa at Northwestern (LIVE)
Wednesday, October 24                 8:00PM                 Penn State at Iowa (LIVE)
Friday, October 26                         8:00PM                 Michigan at Purdue (LIVE)
Sunday, October 28                       3:00PM                 Penn State at Nebraska (LIVE)
Wednesday, October 31                 8:00PM                 Purdue at Illinois (LIVE)
Friday, November 2                        8:00PM                 Minnesota at Penn State (LIVE)
Wednesday, November 7                8:00PM                 Northwestern at Ohio State (LIVE)

Wildcard Dates: November 10 and November 16

Bookmark the schedule here.

Find out more about:

2 Comments

Your Opinion?
Show Comments (2 Comments)
Aldo Stanton on 10/19/2012 @ 9:23pm EDT Said:

Hi, liking the coverage on the Wisconsin vs Indiana match here on Friday night 10/19/12! Who are the announcers? And other commentators in the broadcast? Thanks!

Kent Norman on 10/28/2012 @ 8:49pm EDT Said:

Will the Nebraska-Penn state volley ball match be replayed since the soccer game didn’t let us see the start of the game.