Big Ten Releases Cross Country Awards

Big Ten Releases Cross Country Awards

The Big Ten Conference released its individual cross country awards for both the men and women Tuesday. Big Ten champs Caitlin Lane (Penn State) and Mohammed Ahmed (Wisconsin) took home Women’s Athlete of the Year and Men’s Athlete of the Year, respectively. The coaches of the championship teams, to no surprise, won their respective Coach of the Year honor. Watch our Big Ten Women’s Cross Country Championship highlights now and see all the honorees in this post.

Athlete of the Year: Caitlin Lane, Penn State
Coach of the Year: Walt Drenth, Michigan State
Co-Freshman of the Year: Taylor Pogue, Michigan; Gabrielle Anzalone, Wisconsin

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Meghan Frigo, Illinois
Helene DeLone, Indiana
Mareike Schrulle, Iowa
Danielle Tauro, Michigan
Carlie Green, Michigan State
Laura Docherty, Minnesota
Katie White, Nebraska
Rachel Kaminski, Northwestern
Jordan Jennewine, Ohio State
Emily Giannotti, Penn State
Blair Doney, Purdue
Dani Fischer, Wisconsin

Athlete of the Year: Mohammed Ahmed, Wisconsin
Coach of the Year: Mick Byrne, Wisconsin
Freshman of the Year: David Madrigal, Michigan State

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Jordan Hebert, Illinois
Zach Mayhew, Indiana
Cameron Rieger, Iowa
Zach Ornelas, Michigan
Joe Dimambro, Michigan State
Paul Hilsen, Minnesota
Brad Doering, Nebraska
Taylor Williams, Ohio State
Tyler Corkedale, Penn State
Stephen Schulz, Purdue
Michael Brice, Wisconsin